We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Danville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read a lot of good reviews on TripAdvisor for this and chose this hotel. I had a lot of expectations going in.

Check In - Nothing to write home about - it was quick, uneventful, not very friendly but got the job done.

Room - This is an old Embassy Suites so you know what to expect in the rooms. For about $280 a night there was no view and it was a basic room with a king size bed. Nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Breakfast - Again nothing to write home about - mass produced food - no make your own omelettes, but selection of eggs or pancakes, eggs or french toast, biscuit, gravy, meat. Fruits were your typical cheap selection, half cut bananas, oranges, melons, and watermelons - no berries or premium fruits.

Evening Reception - You get a coupon for a drink and with it you can pick pretzels or popcorn - ugh.

Internet Access - they tell you that you get a great deal for $26 a day for valet parking and internet. The internet barely works. My hotspot on my HSPA phone was faster than their internet service. I complained and their explanation was that they were quite full. Seriously if you are quite full get more bandwidth. In this day an age Internet access is not optional.

Overall - I am giving it a generous 3 star for location but not much else. If you want a better experience go to the Marriott next door for just a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Paid wifi sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Bhavit,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast and snacks at the nightly happy hour. Due to being on the California side of the state line there are very strict regulations when it comes to building height. One of these regulations is that our building could not stand any taller than the tree line which is why we are not able to offer rooms with views of the Lake. Although we don’t have many lake views we do pride ourselves on the beautiful view we can offer, which is of Heavenly Mountain located behind the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    94
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
94
67
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. It's walking distance to gondola lifts to Heaven and to many great eateries. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Echo is a great place to dine. My only complaint was breakfast buffet. The breakfast food was not great but I would still stay here again and again .

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group of 60 people were treated great by the entire staff. The rooms are large and clean. The beds are comfy but I kept getting short sheeted when they made the bed. Good hot water in the shower.
The breakfast (included) was fantastic. 2 types of egg caserole's (meat and Veggie), scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, fresh fruit whole and cut up, oatmeal (not instant), cereals, pastries, coffee and juices. The happy hours (4:30 - 6:30 daily) are outstanding. Our group signed a contract early and HH was by the old rules - unlimited drinks. I understand they now limit the number to 2 per guest. Still a great deal and a very good selection of brews.
The fitness center is small, 2 treadmills, 1 recumbent bike and 1 stepper. Also free weights to 60lbs. The tv on the wall and on the treadmills did not work and the water was out. The area was clean and hardly used which was fine with me. The hot tub was small for a hotel this size and the pool was adequate.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. And the lobby area has finally been furnished with comfortable seating in front of a massive fireplace. A good place to meet up when you are waiting for your friends. The hotel location is a short 2 blocks from the gondola and right next to Harrah's.
We used the banquet room one night and everything went great, from the room setup to the food preparation. I would have given 5 stars but my expectations are very high (think 4 Seasons).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just came from this place. I've stayed here before. I give it 3 stars, its ok. But this time I was pulling out the couch, so I can turn it into a bed and the mattress was disgusting. I mean it looked so old, I bet they haven't changed it in years.

Never again will I stay there....definitely I will stay at the Marriott up the street. Also our bed room would get stuck and our toilet had issues.

Room Tip: If you stay here, please don't pay for parking. Park at the casino at Harrah's, you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Theresa,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear that there were issues with your stay and we do hope that upon notifying the front desk, the door and toilet were repaired in a timely manner. We also want to thank you for letting us know about the sleeper sofa and your comments have been forwarded on to the Director of Housekeeping for her to look in to. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the fact that the rooms had a separate living/dining area from the bedroom. Great for families! Comfy beds, clean and nicely appointed rooms. Enjoyed the cocktail hour and the free breakfast. There is a great hiking trail behind the hotel and the location is in the heart of the casino area. Great location for restaurants, movies, shopping, gambling and hiking.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed this property twice since it changed ownership. The first time it was just like staying at the Embassy suites. The second time, six months later, the place showed a little bit more wear and tear and the staff perhaps just slightly less on the ball. We had a room that was sort of beat up and luckily we were able to change. It's a big property with big bedrooms, free buffet breakfast, free cocktail hour and a great location if you want to be in South Lake Tahoe. I don't think it's worth a premium unless you have a big family and are able to utilize both rooms and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Look for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked into the hotel and man at the front desk tells us we should valet park for 25.00. He also tells us there is outside free parking behind the hotel but didn't recommend it because he claimed someone got their car towed! So we valet parked, truck got dripped on all night from condensation pipes and was filthy could have save the 25.00 and probably ended up with a cleaner truck!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Laura,
Thank you so much for the comments regarding your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were misinformed about the “free” parking out back and that your truck became dirty while in our Valet’s hands. The parking lot located at the back of our property is owned by Harrah’s Casino and although it appears to be free Harrah’s guests pay a mandatory resort fee that covers their onsite parking. In the past few weeks some of our guests decided to take the risk and park in this lot and the end result was their cars being towed. We have passed your comments along to the Valet Account Manager and our Director of Engineering to make sure that there are no leaky pipes and if so to not park cars under them until they can be repaired. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.