We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad hospitality - The hotel staff(specially reception) is rude

The room heater was not working.

The common breakfast area - stinks the whole hotel of meat all around during the breakfast.
Not at all recommended for Vegetarians.

Room Tip: The hotel is not situated near the lake - so any room is a neutral experience - choose the 'valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast area and your heater did not work correctly, though we are confident that it was repaired in a timely manner after notifying our front desk team. We receive many very positive reviews about the friendliness of our staff and the many breakfast options available designed to accommodate all guests. We do hope that you will give us a second chance and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    77
    40
    15
    4
See reviews for
73
60
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
placerville,ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This trip was a spur of the moment; throw your clothes in a suitcase and go! We booked the room in the morning and arrived that afternoon for just one night. I was surprised when I stepped inside this hotel to find it was a former Embassy Suites. I've stayed at Embassy Suites before and this place looked and felt just like one. That isn't a bad thing, just unexpected. The location is perfect. Right in the middle of all the activities. You can walk just about anywhere - shopping, dining, casinos, and gondola. Our room was nice - just like other rooms we've stayed in at Embassy Suites. They have valet parking only and charge a fee for each night’s stay if they park your car, but right next door is a casino with unlimited all night free parking, so we parked there (our car didn't care where it spent the night). The room was quiet and the temperature was good. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was good; there were lots of items to choose from, encluding eggs, bacon, fruit etc. We took our coffee through the indoor pool area and out the doors to the outside deck to sit and drink it under the pines, which was nice. If you like Embassy Suites, you'll like this place. Personally, I hope it develops some unique character of its own.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view ask when you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. Check in was a breeze, I was shown up to our premier room, and what a room. Walked in and there was a sitting room with sofa, large wide screen TV, fridge and dinning table. A spacious bathroom and a lovely bedroom also with flat screen TV and a really big comfy bed. The pillows were fantastic. We did have a blocked toilet but this was sorted out in 15 mind. Staff were really friendly. We ended up paying $25 a night to park as nowhere else too they say you can park in Harrahs for free at your own risk. This includes Internet which worked for one of our evenings out of 2 hoping it'll work when we get back. There is no safe in room which was a bit of a problem for us. You also get free buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and a free drinks voucher which was great. Hotel was great but parking and wifi should be included.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a work conference and hadn't stayed here since it was the official Embassy Suites. To me, it seems like the quality has gone downhill. I know they are remodeling but the best part about the hotel was all of the parts outside of my room. Everything is fixable and I'm hoping I just had a bad stay with the housekeeping/cleanliness of the room.

The room itself was very large and spacious. The first issue started at 5am the next day when the casino deliveries next door started to arrive. I was in room 310 and at 5:00 on the dot the delivery trucks arrived to deliver and it was beep beep beep for a good 20 minutes. That happened on the second day too so no sleeping in for me.

When I woke up the next morning, I found a piece of crusty bread in my bed.... only I didn't eat anything in my bed!! I don't know if it came from the extra blanket that was crusty itself (I think it's been a while since washed) or if it was in the sheets but I was grossed out. The sheets were also stained with random black and red speckles which I think were lipstick and eye liner and looked a little worn.

I left the room and housekeeping came in. When I got back, I saw that they really only made the bed. I had some used napkins on the nightstand that were still there, maybe they were thinking I was recycling?? And although I left towels hanging to be reused, they weren't folded or moved out of the way of anything, which is weird because most of the time they are refolded nicely. The light in the bed stand light would only come on after I shook the bulb and post a bit. My friend said she had a remodeled room so I think I got an older one.

The breakfast was good as always, happy hour is basic. Location is great. Staff not the friendliest this time around. Overall, this wouldn't be my first choice of places to stay. I rather pay more bucks and stay at the Marriott because I know what I'm getting there.

Room Tip: Don't choose 310!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that there were issues with the room during your stay and that the delivery trucks for the casinos next door were disruptive to your sleep. We have forwarded your comments on to the Director of Housekeeping for her to review with her team and make the appropriate changes so this does not happen to future guests. We have also sent your comments on to the Director of Engineering for him to inspect the lights in the suites to make sure they are all in working order. We thank you again for your comments and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't think of a way in which our weekend stay could have been any better (as far as accommodations are concerned!!) than it was. The room was perfect for wheelchair access (room 502), and the front desk staff (THANK YOU, MEGAN!) let us see available ADA rooms and let us choose which one we liked. There was also a sink and counter in the main bedroom, as well as the bathroom. I don't think I will ever stay at another property in South Lake Tahoe again. There is simply no better choice of hotel in the area than this one. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are at least two room suites, I'm pretty sure. Our room (a basic / standard) had two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
1,694 reviews 1,694 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 395 cities Reviews in 395 cities
989 helpful votes 989 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the Lake Tahoe Resort is stellar being next to the casino area on one side and the Heavenly Village shops and Gondola on the other side. As such, it is easy to walk to restaurants, movies, shops and more within a few minutes.

It is a well run hotel with very good customer services such as a good breakfast to start the day as well as a happy hour at night.

Rooms are nice and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was perfect. Sarah helped us get checked in. She was very kind and professional. The room was clean. The breakfast was great. The pool was being redone so we were sent to Harris next door to swim. I love this hotel. It has always been one of my favorites.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.