We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, needs TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located directly next to Harrah's and within 2 minute walk to Heavenly Village. Common areas need extensive remodeling. Carpets are stained and torn. Just looks tired. Rooms were spacious, clean and quiet, albeit a little outdated. We were on the 6th floor which probably helped since all rooms open to the central restaurant and lobby. Great hot breakfast but seating can be an issue since hotel has so many rooms. Happy hour includes 1 free alcoholic beverage/person/day but food is limited to popcorn and pretzels. Be aware that there is no self parking on site and valet parking is 25$/day. There is open parking in the large lot behind Harrah's but you might question the security of this arrangement. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Rooms seem a bit pricey, especially when you add on parking, but location may justify this.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
60
43
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was worried when Embassy Suites sold this hotel in an awesome location in South Lake Tahoe right in the middle of the action between Nevada casinos and California ski resorts. The new owners kept the happy hour and improved it where you can use drink tickets any time at the bar/restaurant, breakfast is good, rooms are big, and indoor pool/hot-tub great for kids and stays open late for adults. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Only tarnish is the used car salesman type valet dudes that try to get you to pay $25 per day vs. free parking within a few feet of hotel. Also, get some free wireless and stop charging--it's 2014!

Room Tip: You can sleep 3 adults in separate beds in a standard room with the pullout sofabed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed one night during our trip in CA and this hotel is great. You can easily recognize the footprint of a former Embassy Hotel : rooms are large, breakfast was included and lication is great. We had a package including Wifi and valet parking which was a good idea as finding a spot for parking can be sketchy in this area. I would return again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location - Perfect! It is right on the intersection of the CA/NV Stateline. You have 2 of the major casinos on the intersection. Walking distance (about 10 minutes) to the Lake...Walking distance (less than 5 minutes) to Gondolas (rides to talk you to the Ski Resort) as well as restaurants, coffee shops, stores, and even a grocery store.

Price - Look to stay her off peak. I stayed on the weekend and the cost was about $350 a night. I was ok with it being a "5 star resort". Turns out that this used to be an Embassy Suites. From the outside the hotel looks gorgeous and luxurious. The inside is ok (exact layout of Embassy Suites). The rooms however even though spacious (1 room with door and bathroom outside with separate room with a pull out couch and desk) had no luxury whatsoever. I guess I am spoiled by the Vegas hotels that have top of the line furniture and decor. Don't take me wrong, they are nice and kept but definitely not worth the weekend rate.

Service - I was able to book with 2 free breakfast buffets which was nice. Full breakfast not just continental.

Concierge - Not very helpful on my experience as they would not buy tickets for something that I wanted but I'm sure that they do their job other times.

Front Desk - Extremely friendly.

Parking - Not included. You can park for free in nearby casino at your own risk. Otherwise valet parking available for $25 per day with in and out privileges. Every time I used it they were very fast and usually took less than 5 minutes to bring the car even when they were really busy.

Wifi - Included per daily charge or for 2 hours at a time.

Note for parents with kids - If you have teenagers or have a babysitter it is nice because there is a movie theater within 5 minutes so you can send the kids to the movies while you go to the casino.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Hotel for two nights. The room was large, beds comfortable, pillows a little big for my taste. Stayed on the 6th floor and the room was quiet. The room could have been a little cleaner. Maids did not dust properly as there was dust behind TV on dresser and by dresser drawers. The bathroom was large and there was a little mildew between the tiles on the tub. We did enjoy the free breakfast in the morning. They also had a full bar during happy hour. Comes with free popcorn and pretzels. Also had drinks and appetizers at the sports bar. Enjoyed that. The weather was perfect so we sat out on the patio and had drinks. They had live music playing. The hotel is right next to the casinos and next to the Marriott resort where you can catch the gondolas. Parking is $25 a day. I thought that was excessive. So we parked next door at Harrahs. They did not have free wifi. You had to pay $12.95 a day per device. I did not buy it could not believe it was per device. If you pay for parking you do get a deal on the Wifi. I did not go to the indoor pool because it was full of kids. But that is to be expected when you go during the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. Even with construction/upgrades going on, it was very pleasant. Went for business but took the family and we all had a great time. Lake is walking distance. They have free breakfast, which is very convenient. They also have happy hour in the hotel. :)
We will return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great experience. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had called ahead asking for a high room with privacy because we had a 9 month old with us. When we arrived they had our room ready and it was absolutely what we asked for. I would highly recommend this hotel. The food at Echo Lounge was delicious too. I was also at a conference and had the same experience with the food we were served, it was delicious and high quality.

Room Tip: Request a high room and ask for a view of the mountains. High rooms keep you away from the atrium wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.