We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Kansas, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed a week at this hotel a few weeks ago. It is more like a hotel than a resort to me, it does have nice large rooms with a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. The free breakfast was a great but could have been better if it wasn't the same food everyday, got a little old after a week. We did not use the pool but would have if it had been an outdoor pool. The patio at the Echo Restaurant was nice touch for an evening drink and to relax. The concierge was very nice and helpful when trying to book anything. The front desk was very nice and helpful as well. It was located next to Harrahs and Harveys if you like to gamble and a few blocks to the beach. The only complaint about the beach is it is private and you have to pay to sit on the beach and no alcohol. There is a restaurant/bar next to the beach. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including our evening happy hour, the patio at Echo Lounge, and that the concierge was able to help you. In regards to the beach, we do offer beach passes to Round Hill Pines Resort which is a short drive from the hotel. They even have a tiki bar on the beach serving some delicious Painkillers. We apologize if you were not given passes to this beach during your stay. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    102
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
100
73
Solo
0
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

South Lake Tahoe seems to have really expensive hotels or really run down hovels but not much in between. For example: Hampton Inn, Courtyard or similar cannot be found here. I've stayed at the Best Western Carriage House, Motel 6, Forest Park Inn and some other rent-by-the-hour flea bags and the best was this hotel when it was an Embassy Suites. I'm not sure it was a good idea for the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to stick with the same program as Embassy Suites and I find myself comparing it, somewhat unfavorably.
Nevertheless, this is one of the better hotels in the area and if you can get a discount it is certainly worth considering. The breakfast is ok and they give you pretzels, popcorn and one free inexpensive alcoholic drink per evening.
If you want to gamble it is literally next door. Internet costs extra as does parking and some opt to park in the next State over for free.

Room Tip: Some high floor rooms have a slight view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

we went here for a long weekend... the hotel is exactly like an embassy suites, except under new management... nothing too fancy and good location... large breakfast buffet selection (inclusive)... only a couple of minutes from heavenly ski resort gondola... next trip, will try to be closer to the lake...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was really nice to have the two separate rooms and TV, but for over $200 a night in off season, I expected more. It was my birthday weekend, and if the hotel wasn't sold out I would of expected at least to be on the side with a view. Instead we looked at the street and hotel next door. The room was clean and spotless to look at, but when I went to put something down on the kitchen area counter it was sticky with something like sugar and cinnamon, so it was never wiped down. The bathroom shower knob was broken, not sure how the shower was cleaned and that missed. The staff was all very pleasant, and the breakfast was good, and it was walking distance to ever thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi and thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We apologize that you did not get a better room with a view for your birthday weekend, but hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and in Tahoe. Summer is one of our busiest season of the year and we have been completely booked all summer. We also apologize that housekeeping missed those items in your room and we will address those items with them. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future and think of us for your next special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is fine, but showing its age. Rooms are all suites, but are dated and a bit dark. They have not been updated in a number of years. The beds were comfortable. No room service for breakfast. staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Elizabeth,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the comfortable beds. The hotel recently underwent a $5 million renovation that included upgrades to the suites as well as a facelift in the lobby with a brand new fireplace and furniture so we're disappointed to hear that you felt the hotel was a bit dated. On property we provide a complimentary daily breakfast buffet to all of our guests, which is why there is no room service breakfast available. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Room is basically OK - roomy and comfortable bed. There were housekeeping issues though. There was a dirty washcloth from a previous guest left over the shower bar - BROWN STAIN on it...Other issues - lengthy valet parking waits in the morning and do not rely on a wake up call. It might never come. Also they charge for wifi which is a bit nickle and dimey in this day and age. All in all though, OK and if you are interested in gambling, Harrah's is right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Meg and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We apologize that you had an issue in your room upon check-in and sincerely hope that this issue was remedied for you quickly upon calling the front desk. This issue has also been brought to the attention of our housekeeping team as well. We also apologize that you had a lengthy wait for valet and recommend calling down to valet at least 15 minutes before you are ready to leave so that the team has time to pull your car around before you arrive in the lobby. Also, during your next stay consider taking advantage of our combined wi-fi and valet parking package for just $25/night. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Lake Tahoe Resort was a excellent place to stay. They were very nice when we arrived. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I enjoyed the resort because you were close to everything. You could walk to small local shops, walk to harbour and enjoy the casinos next door. The breakfast was excellent every morning and a happy hour every day was great. The only thing I didn't like was the 25 dollar a day parking fee. You can just go and park at the Harrahs parking lot for free. Overall this was a great place to stay in Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.