We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great location! !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a wedding and it is located in the prime location! Clubs are within walking distance as well as other shops and restaurants. The room was absolutely great, it was as if we had a 1 bedroom apartment minus the kitchen. The hotel offers free breakfast and happy hour with free drinks (they give little coupons). Parking is 25 with in and out, however you don't really need to drive anywhere unless you're going to the lake. I would definitely recommend this place, and I will be returning in Aug. Woohoo!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
55
35
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped here for a single overnight as part of a bus tour and were very pleased with the accommodation. It's only a short walk to dinner/supper choices, as well as a shopping mall. We found a nice brewery (don't remember the name) very close by -- actually in a basement location -- which served the purpose well.
Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast at the hotel was a bit hectic -- get in line early to avoid the rush. Beautiful accommodations -- esp. around the eating area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have always wanted to stay at the Empessy Suites next to Harrah's for years but upon making the reservation I discovered it was sold to the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel organization. We took in the Tahoe Celebrity Golf Tournament and I made the reservation here month's ahead and got a good price at $159 per night. They are upgradeing the hotel so there were contractors working in the courtyard area but that's to be expected. I think the room needed upgrading but never asked so I don't know if it will also be upgraded. It was OK clean but somewhat dusty probably from the working going on in the courtyard. The parking was too expensive for us at $25 per day so we parked next door at Harrah's for zero! The free breakfast was excellent and plenty of everything to eat - french toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cereals, pastries. There was a $13 charge to use internet that we paid but then it didn't work. The desk said they were upgrading it also but I believe they shouldn't ask us to pay for it if it is not dependable. I also believe there should be no charge for internet service in today's world and a majority of hotels we stay at do not charge for it. I'll try to stay there again but will ask about rooms being updated before I make any reservations. . . .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed for three nights and were pleased with the accommodations. It is a former Embassy Suites, so it is set up with suites in a courtyard. Upon checkout, we received two complimentary drink tix and kids drinks are free. Likewise, they supply free breakfast. While they do not cook omelets to order (a bit of a disappointment) and the overall selection of breakfast items is not the standards of an ES, it was adequate in my opinion. The staff was very nice and accommodating with our requests. Room was well apportioned, quiet, up to date, and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the outside look of the hotel. Be advised you are almost forced to pay $25 a day for valet parking. We took the chance and parked our own car for the week. It was perfectly fine with lots of parking. Don't fall for the you have to use the valet. Internet was not free but $13 a day! When we asked why they charged for wi-FI. We were told if you used the valet service then it is free. That is crazy! Go out of the hotel and turn left. Walk down to Starbucks and it is FREE! Free breakfast was not for those of you who are health aware. It is the same each day; eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy and fruit. Front desk was not very welcoming or helpful. Concierge service was very helpful. The rooms are quite nice. Don't leave anything out you don't want thrown out. Our maid kept throwing our breakfast coupons and happy hour coupons away.

Room Tip: Ask if you are close to,area where buffet and happy hour are served. Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello and thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and that the concierge was able to help you during your stay. The only parking our hotel is able to offer is valet in our covered parking garage because we do not own any external spaces due to local governing laws. Any other parking area guests choose to use is at their own risk. In an effort to help offset any additional costs we offer a combined parking and Wi-Fi package, with unlimited internet use for all devices in your suite, that can be purchased before or during your next stay with us. We provide unlimited in and out access valet privileges in our covered, heated, secured, and insured parking garage 27/7. We appreciate your feedback on the complimentary breakfast buffet offerings. We try to offer a wide range of items available to satisfy all of our guests; please let us know if there are items you'd like to see added in particular. We also apologize that the housekeeping service accidentally tossed your breakfast and happy hour coupons, and we hope that the front desk was able to fix this for you during your stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the Carrie Underwood concert which was during the celebrity golf tournament. Prices were jacked up so it was 375 a night with taxes and fees $418. Ouch. When we checked in we were told our room 543 had just been remodeled not true. Very dated look just like it did when it was Embassy Suites. Couch was old a tattered. Breakfast is no longer cooked to order. More like a Holiday Inn Express breakfast buffet. $25 valet parking is excessive right next door at Harrah's it is free. The new owners are taking a step down from Embassy Suites.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Dale, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your remodeled suite. Several items were upgraded in your suite (543) including new carpet, new granite counter tops, new wallpaper, fixtures, headboards, sinks, linens, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, new dining table / chairs, and upgraded bathroom. For our complimentary breakfast buffet (unmatched by any other property in Lake Tahoe), we offer a daily egg special instead of cooked to order omelet station which has shortened the wait time immensely. In addition, we have added bakery items from local shops, including bagels and breads from local favorites, Rude Brothers Bagels and Sugar Pine Bakery. We do not own any external space due to local governing laws, which is why we only offer valet covered parking; providing safe, heated, secured, and insured parking 24 hours a day/7 days a week. Any other parking area guests choose to use is at their own risk. In an effort to help offset any additional costs we offer a combined parking and Wi-Fi package, with unlimited internet use for all devices in your suite, that can be purchased before or during your next stay with us. Again, we thank you for your comments and hope that you will decide to try us again during your next visit to Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our GPS directed us to this property as an Embassy Suites. It used to be but now is owned by a different entity. Fairly expensive, $25 dollar valet parking only, no free WI-FI. Breakfast was ok but not like an Embassy Suites. Probably better values out there but in general a fairly nice place.

Room Tip: We had no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. We apologize that your GPS was not updated to show our new name. We became an independent property in April 2013 and some systems have been slower to update than others. The items offered at the complimentary breakfast buffet have stayed the same, with the exception of changing the omelets to a daily egg special to help shorten the wait time for hot meal items. We have added additional local items though including fresh bagels from local bakery, Rude Brothers Bagels. In an effort to help offset any additional costs we offer a combined valet parking and Wi-Fi package, with unlimited internet use for all devices in the suite and unlimited in and out privileges, that can be purchased before or during your next stay with us. Also, our rates have remained comparable if not better since the property became independent. As the only all-suite hotel in Tahoe South, we are also the only hotel to provide a complimentary breakfast buffet and complimentary drink at happy hour, and believe we are a great value. Again, we thank you for your feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.