We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome Hotel close to the main town which has a ton of shops and restaurants, there is also a shuttle service that will take you to the base of Heavenly ski resort, there is also a Gondola that will take you to a different part of the mountain where the view is spectacular, everything is walking distance no need to rent a car at all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
43
24
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here for 7 nights in march and found the hotel to be very clean and tidy you get a full american breakfast in the morning included in you're price and a two hour free bar from 4.30 until 6.30 in the afternoons which is just what you need after a hard days skiing the rooms are all suites with a refurbished bath shower room and a lounge area with flat screen TV and couch the bedrooms also have a flat screen TV and sink the rooms are very spacious and there is also a microwave and sink in the lounge area all in all a very nice place to stay in the center of town and two minutes walk from the gondola there is also a pool and hot tub and gym we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for a week at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, as part of a charter ski trip. Typical Empress Suites-style layout, with a 1980s vibe. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate. The hot food buffet was ok, but I couldn't understand why a decent hotel would use communal jars of jam and peanut butter, instead of individual packets, considering the volume of guests (and their respective germs) going through the buffet every day.

The pool was often filled with kids, and according to some friends, the hot tub was more warm than hot.

All the staff I met were friendly, and the concierge desk had lots of suggestions, as well as discounts at several restaurants. The ski valet was handy.

My bed was comfortable, but some friends found the beds uncomfortable. From our room on the 7th floor, we had a nice view, facing the gondola.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant a couple times, which always had a loss leader dinner special that sounded tempting. The steak and shrimp for $16.95 ended up being a fairly tough piece of cold skirt steak, with some garlic shrimp that seemed to have been cooked in advance. Better to order off the menu than their specials. I liked the fried chicken salad.

All in all, a good hotel, with good rates and clean rooms, but the Marriott next to the Heavenly Gondola looked like a much nicer place to stay, if one has the budget to splurge.

Interestingly, the Hyatt at Incline, which was a much nicer, more deluxe property, had the same room rate as the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel the nights I was there. I realize it's located further from the ski resorts, but I'd probably stay in Incline next time I visit Lake Tahoe. I found Stateline/ South Lake Tahoe convenient for Heavenly, but the town itself is very commercial, and I preferred the look and vibe of Incline, if I was arranging my own stay near Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved staying there, rooms were spacious, great location. Ski storage is convenient. There needs to be signage for bell stand and valet. The concierge is very helpful and has good coupon deals. The staff is very friendly and courteous.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We've stayed here several times (when it was owned by Embassy Suites). Some of the rooms have now been renovated and we were lucky to stay on the 4th floor on which all the rooms (I believe) have been remodeled.
Much better now with new carpeting, nicer looking bathroom etc. Basically, bottom line is if you're traveling with kids this place is perfect as there is a separate living area with a tv and pull out sofa bed. Plenty of space to keep all your ski / board gear without falling over each other.

They are still doing free drinks at happy hour (which can be a zoo at prime time) same for the buffet breakfast (which we thought was better when Embassy Suites owned the hotel – but still pretty good). If you're there to ski and want easy access to the gondola it's perfect. We go up to Tahoe a lot and I still think this is the best value for families.

I'd like to also add how helpful all the staff are, from valet, to check-in to bell man.

Tip: If you want to avoid the zoo-like feeding frenzy of kids in pjs on a Sunday morning at breakfast, get down there earlier. We've found on several occasions that it's nice and tranquil earlier in the morning.

Room Tip: Any of the new remodeled rooms would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here the first week of March, 2014 for our annual ski trip. It is located just across the street from Harrah's Casino and a block away from the Gondola. Very convenient to the Heavenly village and gambling. It is a nice hotel, comfortable room but currently under renovation: replanting the plants, caulking trim, painting, etc. Our room felt like it hadn't been remodeled yet -- mis-matched decor, hook from the bathroom door fell off, and bad paint jobs. Other than that, the room was nice and the bedroom is separate from the dining table, tv, and mini-fridge/wet bar -- this is a nice feature. I used this area to log-in to work a couple mornings while my spouse slept, it was far enough away and I didn't disturb the sleeping. Breakfast buffet each morning is included and really good -- both cold and hot items. There is a complimentary happy hour each evening that we didn't attend because we were concerned that the highly aggressive concierge folks would be there pushing us to buy a timeshare -- Our biggest complaint is the concierge, we asked them for a dinner recommendation nearby and they couldn't give us options, no map, no list of local restaurants, it was strange. We complained to the desk and they informed us that the concierge is not affiliated with the hotel, only rents the space -- this explains the multiple phone calls we received from them pushing us to visit the concierge for our "free gift" - whatever -- it was annoying and they were not helpful when we needed it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice before.great location for skiing/Casino's.My biggest complaint is the cost of the Wifi.we stayed here for 7 nights which would have cost $90.considering how much it cost to stay here and the fact that most motels in resort have free Wifi I think this cost is daylight robbery.also breakfast was ok but not great often the food was cold.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#21 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.