We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, clean and cozy rooms, excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Wonderful staff, clean and cozy rooms, excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Beach Retreat and Lodge exceeded my expectations, especially for the value. It is right on the water with a restaurant on the pier. The rooms were updated, clean and cozy. The staff was friendly, timely, and overall excellent. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    81
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
74
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I made a reservation for two rooms on Friday 5/29. Spent twenty minutes on the phone finding the room, giving my info, etc. with a reservations staff person. When I didn't receive a confirmation email, I phoned today, 5/31 to double check. Never heard of me or my credit card. I was told the reservation manager would get back to me. That was five hours ago. When I asked if I could just book my rooms then and there, I was told there were no rooms. not happy...lacking in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Left the city for memorial day weekend to check out South Lake Tahoe for the first time, this place did not disappoint. The facilities were as advertised. The highlights were the proximity to the beach, the hammocks, the deck and the hot tub. The only gripe that I have is that we paid extra for the lake side view and we were much further back than some of the other rooms. We were in building D room 210, and the patio was nice but there was a parking area between our room and the lake so I was bummed to not be closer. We also paid an extra $10 per night to add a mini refrigerator in the room, which came in handy but would have been nice not to have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great location, friendly staff and all renovated rooms. The Beach house restaurant/ bar had amazing food and service. I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was great at checkin/checkout. In between everything was perfect. Clean, nice ambiance & right on the lake so what could be better. Yvonne at the front desk is wonderful.
There is a pier right in front of the hotel that makes for a nice walk out onto the lake & plenty of shoreline for more walking.
Love the fireplace too

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort was wonderful great customer service and our wedding was a dream come true could not have asked for anything better, Food Fantastic, service Marvelous, Venue out of this world.!! Thank you so much for making our day so extra special. The fire pits were a great hit in the evenings with all our family and friends. WE will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Get a lake view or Beach view room! worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bottom line: I would return to this hotel.
- Friendly staff
- Small but clean room with comfortable bed and pillows, and nice bedding
- Fireplace and free internet in the room worked well
- Located on the lake with a large beach area
- Pier bar/restaurant with happy hour food that was good
- Grocery with Starbucks across the street, CVS one plaza over
- 20 minute walk (1 flat mile) to Heavenly Village with theater and shops
- Brand new (May 2015) conference center next door is convenient and nicely done
- Good place for a beach wedding

Note: room doors open to the outside not to a hallway.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.