We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay, great location, no point of comparison” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine stay, great location, no point of comparison”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort has a nice location right on the lake, with a very pleasant restaurant on the dock boasting beautiful views. It's right in the mix of everything you would need to enjoy a trip to Tahoe - quick drive to casinos, restaurants and shopping, daytime activities and nighttime entertainment alike. For that, I would absolutely return here and recommend this place to others. It's actually very conveniently located across the street from Safeway, so you could grab some snacks for your day adventures, etc.

The room was definitely not outstanding, but it was fine. Flat screen TV with a very comfy bed, a little patio and a home-y feel. The bathroom was a little less than impressive, but it wasn't bad. In some ways the outside of the grounds/entryways to rooms, etc., seemed a little on the low budget side, but it isn't advertised as a luxury hotel. It's a lakeside retreat, which it completely lives up to.

I guess it was as expected, but my review's only caveat is I haven't stayed at many hotels in Tahoe - I have typically stayed in a rental property/cabin that can accommodate groups of 8 or more for ski/snow season. For a quick weekender and to enjoy the best of what Tahoe has to offer, this is a perfectly reasonable option! Thank you to the staff at the restaurant who were very friendly and sweet. The overall service was commendable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    38
    21
    14
See reviews for
67
117
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We take a road trip every year for our anniversary to have time to recharge our marriage away from our everyday lives. We have stayed at several different hotels across several states. We can easily rank this as our second, if not tied for first, choice in hotels we've been in. Literally right on tge beach just a short skip away from tbe rooms!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel set right on lake Tahoe with some unobstructed views (recommended). The rooms have been recently updated with newer carpet and flat screens. Our room was clean but did have some previous guest remnants in the bathtub. We utilized the gas fire pit to cook some smores while watching the sunset.

Room Tip: High floor, unobstructed Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went away for a great little weekend and stayed at your beautiful hotel. The property was amazing, right on the beach! You have access to everything all around you. The rooms were perfect and loved the fireplace and beach touch. We had dinner at your restaurant on the dock...AMAZING FOOD and had drinks in the lodge! We loved it all! We loved it so much we are hoping to renew our wedding vows and use your facility to bring all our friends to the property for a great time! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last weekend and wee absolutely wowed by this property. Our building was literally ON THE BEACH with a killer view! Fireplace in the darling room. It was not big but clean and cute with a balcony & brand new chairs. The hotel is made up of many buildings, not all of which are on or face the lake. Ask for C Bldg with lake view. We're pretty thrifty when we travel but I do not regret spending a little more for that view!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here with my boyfriend for our one year and we loved it. A friend of mine suggested it and I booked it the next week. And I wasn't let down. For the price and location it was a good pick. I recommend for anyone just wanting to get away for a weekend!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting and fairly inexpensive. Not the nicest place on the lake, but decent and convenient. Loved the fireplace in room, and the incredible view of the water. We enjoyed walking out on the pier and the kids loved the sandy beach.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.