We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Woodland, California
1 review
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First time staying there and we loved it! Staff was very friendly and welcoming, our room was clean and has great decor...will be staying there again soon! It's in a great location, and the grocery store across the street was a plus!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    67
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
62
103
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausaito
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I want to give it a "5" except some misunderstanding that occured on our last night. It was not placed on the website nor front desk clerk about $30 fee for the dogs each night. The night front desk clerk sounded rude on the phone but when I clarified things with him at the front desk, he apologized. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay at Lake Tahoe. Tge room was clean. It was so convenient to walk the dogs out for their pee and poo. The lake is fun on summer time. The boathouse food was great. I like the place. I'm sure will come back.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear VmCurrie,

First, our sincerest apologies for coming across rude to you. Our front office manager has read your review and will certainly use your comments as a teachable moment for our team members.

Yes, we are a pet friendly hotel, but we do charge for our best friends. If you have a chance, please go to our Facebook page and check out the Christmas section where we have photos of our two little elves. These are my Shih Tzus, Abby and Gidget. We love our pets here at the BRL!!

I do hope that you come back to our lodge soon and we will do everything we can to get that "5" from you.

Kind regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice people, well cared for facility (not new/rooms not large - but we didn't care), great food (in both the Boathouse and the Tavern) and beautiful, artistic gas fire pits scattered around the grounds (cast iron logs and pine needles)! Loved our stay!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jane M.,

Thank you for your awesome review and for noticing the little details. We can't wait for your return.

I must say, I've never heard of Magalia, California, so I looked it up. It appears it was established during the California Gold Rush with the name of Mountain View in 1849 and changed to Dogtown, CA in 1850 due to a dog breeding operation. In 1861, the name was changed to Magalia, meaning cottages in Latin. At least, this is what the internet is saying, so it must be true:)

I hope I have the opportunity to visit your town one day.

Best regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place delivers great value - I sign up for their newsletter and take advantage of Web deals. The room is nicely appointed, albeit with a few quirks such as the in-room fireplace juxtaposed against the small bathrooms with Motel 6 type of fixtures, like cheap shower door and permanent fixed pump-bottles of shampoo, conditioner, etc. Not to denigrate Motel 6, but you know the type.

It's also nice to have the grounds, common areas, or stroll along the beach when you want to some private time. Free Wifi is fast enough, though the rooms don't have accessible plugs near the bedstand for nighttime phone charging.

All in all, very nice stay from a place that is trying to be upscale but still charges reasonably.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello HappytoMeetYou,

Thank you for visiting us from Palo Alto, CA. I had the pleasure of visiting your beautiful town while attending the Notre Dame/ Stanford football game. My Fighting Irish won and unfortunately, Stanford lost (obviously), but both are incredible schools and represent our nation's finest in academia.

Your review was generous and kind and one day we might surprise you with a different shower door.

Best regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean and have a little bit of character - Edison bulbs, fireplaces, and notes on a chalkboard. Our room was a partial view of the lake, and had a beautiful view from the back porch. We even had a couple of ducks and a squirrel show up to say hi. The Tavern bar/restaurant is very inviting, and the staff was very nice. There are some nice fire features outside and the pier is really cool. All in all, a very nice place to stay for a reasonable price (we stayed in March 2015, and there wasn't any snow, so the rate may have been off-season). I will definitely stay here again if I come back to Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Oh Rebecca O,

What a wonderful review. I absolutely love Boise, Idaho! I ran into a guest today that just moved to your beautiful town and had nothing but great things to say. For those of you who haven't been to Boise, I encourage you to do so. I had the pleasure of living there a decade ago and I have never forgotten the beauty of the area and the lovely people.

One of the best college football games in NCAA history, if not the best, was in the Fiesta Bowl with Boise State beating Oklahoma (no offense OK).

We hope that you come back to stay with us soon. The team appreciates your business.

Warm regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are small, but have everything you need. Good price and quality service. The Boat House restaurant was an excellent dining spot. The Tavern has great drinks/cocktails. The casinos are a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Anonymous TA Member,

I love your excellent review. Whomever you may be, we hope to see you soon and promise not to reveal your identity.

Best,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant hotel on the lake with a nice beach and private pier - best lake view rooms are 301 thru 306. Nice rooms and good service in a superior location just inside California. Boathouse is nice for drinks on the lake

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Larry N,

Wow! We are so pleased that you would come all the way from Missouri to visit us here in our small town of South Lake Tahoe, CA. The Beach Retreat & Lodge and the entire community of South Lake Tahoe appreciates your patronage.

I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay and we hope you tell your friends in the Midwest about our property and share with them your positive experience in Lake Tahoe. We welcome you with open arms. Maybe one day I'll make it to Osage Beach, MO.

Best regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.