We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was in E block. It had 2 beds. Beds were comfortable. Good heating system. Bathroom was clean and big enough. The room as well was big enough. Even with 2 beds, there was enough room to walk around. There was a balcony from which we could see the lake partially. Only bad point in the room was not enough lighting. But I guess that is very standard for American concepts.
There was nothing complementary though. Not even water bottle or coffee.
Staff was good ad helpful.
It is located on the main road. 5 min drive to Gandola ride. Lot of hotels around.
We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant in morning. That however was too slow. It took us forever to get the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    66
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
60
99
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had my daughter's and new son-in-law's cocktail wedding reception at The Boat House Restaurant. Most of us stayed at the Beach Retreat & Resort. Everything was great! Staff was friendly and professional, rooms were clean, the reception was ready on time. It is a great place for people as well as our canine companions. Everything was reasonably priced for the area. You should check them out.

Room Tip: For one person and a dog, the regular room was comfortable...if there were two of us plus the dog, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was the friendliest I have ever experienced. We received two free drinks upon arrival. Our room was very nice, the bed ultra comfortable and we had a fireplace in it! Being able to walk right out onto the beach from our room was wonderful. So beautiful. We had a wonderful time and will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in Building D which had a great view of the lake. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. The fireplace was a nice added touch, but not recommended if you have small children because it gets hot.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good things about this hotel is the location and that they allow pets. However, it's expensive and you can find a nicer hotel for that of price if you book in advance. Make sure your keep a copy of you reservation so they respect the price.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ana,

Thank you for your review and for returning my correspondences and for letting us make it right for you. As you stated in your email to me, you will be back in Tahoe again. We hope this means that you will be staying with us again and bringing your puppies.

P.S. We not only allow dogs; we love dogs and the unconditional love that they provide.

Kind regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

DO NOT get a room next to a stairwell. You will not sleep!!! When ordering at the tavern, insist they right your order down. Chances are you will get the wrong food. Other Than that. Nice place good location. Don't believe I will ever stay there again. There are other places in south shore that have more value for the dollar.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room next to a stairwell. You will not sleep!!! When ordering at the tavern, insist t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dale,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I'm terribly sorry that we didn't deliver on the experience you deserve and expected as a hard working American. We will take your feedback and utilize it in the training for our team members in the Tavern.

Kind regards,

Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was during Valentines/Presidents day weekend. The place felt like it was close to capacity. Each and every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. While waiting to check in, we were handed a flute of champagne. Nice little touch. The property has some exterior deferred maintenance that could be done, parking was free but horrendous at times and the room was very basic but not terribly disappointing (no fridge, although they say one can be brought to the room, if requested) We were in room B304 on the third floor overlooking the lake. We were thrilled with the location of this room as we only had people on one side of us. The walls are thin and the walkways have a somewhat hollow sound so I can see where noise could be an issue. Although having a room right on the lake was nice, we did have some noise & language issues coming up from the drinking frat-aged beach visitors below. Additionally, I watched this group get in a car in our parking lot when they left. It appears that the resort parking lot is used by the public and not just resort guests (which, in part, could be the reason for the parking issue). I imagine this could be a more significant problem during the summer months. We appreciated the restaurant on the pier being so close by but it's not a place a person would eat often...more of a special night out kind of place. Great food but very pricey. We wish we had taken advantage of the tavern/grill inside the lobby as it appeared to do very well. We wouldn't be opposed to staying here again but wouldn't do so if we were wanting a quiet, romantic getaway. This was a last minute, spontaneous trip. Reservations were made 2 days before the long holiday weekend. We were unable to find anything available anywhere else so we were willing to give this unfamiliar place a try. We had prepared ourselves mentally for a different experience than we're accustomed to. Taking all things into consideration, we had a very nice time and the place exceeded our expectations. We would be willing to recommend The Beach Retreat & Resort to friends & family with a few pointers to insure a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you're a person that considers your room part of your overall experience and not just a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.