We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Retreat & Lodge Lake Tahoe needs work!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!!!
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beach Retreat & Lodge Lake Tahoe needs work!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in to the resort on 10/12/14. We opted for the Wedding Suite (B215). When we got to the room at 4:30pm some of the lights were not working, I had to open the breaker panel to turn them on. Then the maintenance crew showed up.The Hot tub in the room was broken and did not work, broken knobs and jets didn't work very well. The bed was way to soft also, and the large mirrors on the wall were in need of paint, large areas missing. The toilet was also leaking on the floor and had to put towels down for the water. There is no hand soap in the room either, so bring your own.
The carpet in the hallway was torn and ripped, which should have been our first clue that this was going to be something we weren't expecting. We would not stay here again. it has potential but needs a lot of work.

Room Tip: Check out the room prior to accepting it, you'll be glad you did. Second floor room was very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Steven F.,

Thank you for your candid review about our property. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations and I am glad that you mentioned the room, in particular, so we may address the items appropriately.

We will begin re-carpeting all of our hotel rooms on October 20th and will be completed by the middle of November. After we have replaced the carpet in all of our rooms, we will look at opportunities to replace the carpet in the outside hallways.

We appreciate your business and your feedback. I welcome you to contact the property and ask for me directly, Brandon (general manager), so we can personally discuss your experience.

Kind regards,
Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
47
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockholm
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How I wish we had stayed more than one night here. The drive up from Sacramento was really pleasant and the roads were the best we encountered in all of California! II wouldn't say we got a great rate at this property but we were prepared to pay for the fabulous beachfront location and to have a room right at the front on the top floor with a balcony with the most gorgeous view. I would rate the property about 3.5 stars based on the condition of the rooms, lack of restaurant, etc. The beds were really comfortable and there was a big sliding door out on to the balcony.There was no fridge in the room but we solved that by collecting ice from the dispenser and putting it in the trash can so we could keep our water cool. It was a really relaxing, laid-back place and I could have easily spent a few days there, hanging in one of their four hammocks with a book. There was a pool and a separate jacuzzi, although there was something wrong with the jacuzzi so we got warm water without the bubbles. Surely fixed now! The reception looked recently renovated and it was quite big as there was an open bar type area as well. Just a shame that it was not used for anything so it looked a bit sparse and uninviting. There is a huge Safeway supermarket across the road and you can get a Safeway Club card just by asking and it gives a lot of discount on purchases. We really liked the location. There is a kayak rental business right next door on the pier where you can rent kayaks and stand-up paddle boats. The water is absolutely gorgeous and great for families with small children as well as it is shallow a very long way out. So if you want something in this area that has a beachfront location and is not in the slightest pretentious, I would definitely recommend this for an overnight or even a few days. We were able to easily find parking near our room and were sure to follow the recommendation of not leaving any food in the car so as to not attract bears.A tip if you are heading toward Yosemite after SLT is to wait with filling up with gas as it is a lot cheaper when you get down the mountain to Gardnerville (Nevada).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is in the middle of a very substantial overhaul - the bar and breakfast area is brand new with flatscreens and cool seating everywhere. The rooms where very clean with new bedding (felt that way anyway) and beds were very comfortable. New tvs in the rooms as well. What makes this such an amazing value is the location right on the lake. You have the beach, the pier for jetskiing or boat rentals, a great pier restaurant and amazing sunsets right there. We hung out by the pool a lot during the day, there was bar service at the pool which was perfect. Kids loved it and also really liked the (new) hot-tub. Staff was very friendly and attentive. I will definitely come back with my family - the location is great close to Heavenly lifts and any other place you want to go.

Room Tip: Ask for Lakeview room, the rooms have little balconies. The ones at the ground floor have a straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our company staff retreat here and everything was wonderful. The staff was friendly, accommodating, flexible and very helpful with all of our requests. The food was really good, the rooms were clean and had wonderful views.
We used the tent, which worked out great. It had plenty of room and I was a little skeptical regarding heating the tent, but the heaters worked great, which we only needed once for a short time.
I would definitely come here on a personal level.
Love the restaurant in the lobby. It's convenient, the food is good and the staff is wonderful.

Some of the staff we interacted with and were AWESOME!!: Sayra Chaves - WOW awesome front desk staff...She's quick, on the ball and very friendly. Thanks Sayra!!! Yanira Tenocelotl – reservation Manager, Catering Staff -Austyn - WOW!! You were always there when we needed something, very helpful & friendly, Amber,Lorie,Joe. Event coordinator - Meagan McLane - Very friendly and helpful! Set up Crew - thank you! Francisco, Danny, Hugo, Jesus, Freddy. Terry & Lori thank you for working with us and accommodating all our needs. Your entire staff made us feel welcome and if we needed something changed it was never a problem you just got it done. THANK YOU TO YOUR ENTIRE TEAM. That's what makes a successful business, A GREAT TEAM!!

Room Tip: It's worth the little added cost to upgrade to a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband, two dogs, and I stayed at the Beach Retreat and Lodge in South Lake Tahoe, CA, this past weekend on the recommendation of our friends. This beautiful property is located right on the lake and even has its own beach. The sunsets over the lake were amazing! It's hard to find a hotel this nice that's pet-friendly. Some of the hotels we've stayed in that allowed pets smelled like barnyards. Not so at this hotel--the rooms were very clean and well maintained. The Sunday brunch serves a variety of food, and there's something delicious for everyone's taste buds. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxed, beautiful setting at this hotel, and the customer service was excellent. Didn't meet one staff member who didn't have a smile on his/her face or ask us if we needed anything. We will definitely be visiting the Beach Retreat again, again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake so you can enjoy the breathtaking sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We have stayed here several times when we have been in the area, using a Groupon the first time and just booking through the hotel site for other dates. The property has a lot going for it - great location in South Lake Tahoe, beautiful beach and pier, and dog-friendly which is a bonus since we often travel with our pet. It's an older property but things are generally pretty clean and it looks like they have been doing some renovations and making improvements. The pool area looks nice but has been super crowded when we have been there so we've skipped it. We love the private balconies and the lake views. Dealings with staff have been positive as well.

But...a few things keeps me from falling in love with this place. The rooms are pretty small, even the more expensive ones. The walls are thin and this is a family resort, which can mean you are stuck listening to the neighbors kids cry/scream/pound things while you try to keep your well-mannered but not without limits pup from barking hysterically at the ceaseless racket. There isn't a mini-fridge in the rooms, which seems weird - not the end of the world but I like to keep some cold drinks on hand when I travel. And lastly, my nit-pickiest complaint - the towels smell funky. I don't know what kind of laundry products they use but I have noticed the same not-quite-fresh smell on the towels every time we have been there. The linens look clean, they just don't smell good.

All in all we have had positive experiences and are likely to stay here again but we wish that management would make a few improvements as mentioned.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms can be very noisy if the beach is crowded so weigh the view against that possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Angm11,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We are sincerely grateful for your repeat business.

I will certainly address the issue with the towels and linen with our laundry provider. When you stay with us in the future, if for some reason you experience the same concern, please let us know immediately and I will provide resolution.

Regarding the mini-fridges, we are looking into possibly adding these to our room sometime in the future. In the interim, you may contact the front desk and they will have a fridge delivered to your room.

Thank you again for your business.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel. One with a lake view and one with a garden view for our kids and dog to stay in. Really enjoyed our stay here, professional staff, great location and dog friendly. The restaurant on the pier was nice, maybe a little pricey but great food and great view. The only downside to this place was the very small shower. If you like to relax in a spa type bathroom this is not the place for you. There was no bathtub. They do serve food in the newly remodeled restaurant and we found that to be okay. The construction that some mention did not bother us due to the location of our rooms. We stayed mid week and so wedding parties were also not an issue. The pool was good. Wifi is ridiculously slow.

Room Tip: Fantastic view room B 302, Garden view D 102 limited view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.