We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Wheeling, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here over the fourth as we wanted to be able to see the fireworks. We were told wrist bands would be handed out to make sure it was just hotel guests at the beach/pier for the fireworks. Once we arrived we were told you would have to pay $10 per person for the wrist bands to watch from the pier and the rest of the property was open to the general public...and they were everywhere. Very very drunk young adults everywhere. Very unfortunate as there were many families with young children around.

Hotel also advertised our room as a garden view. It was a view of the parking lot on both sides. Room was clean. That was the only positive. No mini fridge for drinks, ice machines were out of ice. One pool that was always overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
35
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel to Lake Tahoe every summer and Thanksgiving. We always stay at Lake Land Village or Marriot Timbercove Lodge. Both we love and have never been disappointed. This trip however, LLV was booked and the Marriot was a little pricey so we thought we would try the Beach Retreat Lodge. Boy was that a mistake! This place was so loud! There were drunks wondering all around this resort ! We had to call the front desk both Friday and Saturday night due to loud neighbors screaming and crashing into the walls at 11 pm. We noticed numerous transients wondering around this hotel as well. My husband had to bring our boys in from the beach because of foul mouth drunks. This is NOT a family resort and we ended up cutting our trip short by a day because of it. I am writing this review to help others who want a relaxing, peaceful trip. This place is loud and nothing more than a fraternity and bum magnet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This used to be a Best Western which we have stayed at several times. I just checked in and encountered several problems. The first was the front desk. There were two people & neither one knew how to retrieve a reservation. One person was almost exclusively taking telephone calls in spite of having a third person in a back room. When we got to the room, it was stark - just like the Lobby. The rooms & Lobby used to have a warm, cozy feel. Now, there is nothing on the walls of the Lobby & one of the wall lamps in my room did not have a shade - only a bare lightbulb. Then, we realized we had been placed on the third floor - directly above a smoking room. Our room, including the bathroom flooded with smoke, in spite of this being a non smoking facility. Finally, the internet did not connect. When we called the front desk, we were instructed to call a third party that handles their internet. Why did they not contact this company directly?

All in all, a very, very poor experience. I predict this motel management will not be in business for very long. It is a beautiful property & I'm saddened it is being marred by such mis-management.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Beach Retreat and Lodge because of a wedding. There were 3 weddings on the beach just on Friday with more weddings scheduled on Saturday and Sunday! The resort is totally under construction and noisy during the day. The exercise room is closed which they told us was posted on their website. We did not see any such posting! The staff is not friendly or helpful. One day they did not even give us clean towels or coffee and when we told them house keeping did not come, all they could say is "we are sorry". Poor management! Terrible food!!!!! Beautiful Location. We heard many people complain about noise, construction etc. Resort was booked and they did not care about taking good care of their resort guests.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding, you can hear it throughout the entire resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where it not for the beach front location, I'd rate this as average. However, if you're prepared to pay a little extra for a room with beachfront access, it really is a great summer vacation property. Best rooms are in Block B, Ground floor B101 - 104. They open right onto the beach with spectacular views all bay but especially sunrise and sunset. Rooms are quite dated and the whole property could do with some TLC. They had some re-modelling underway when we stayed during early June 2014. One negative point is the poor quality of the patio furniture outside the rooms. Most were very low grade plastic chairs and not in keeping with the property.

Room Tip: Block B Rooms 101-104
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally situated on the beach at South Lake Tahoe. The surrounding facilities are excellent. But having paid for a lake view room we were palmed off with a room which overlooked a wedding marquee. We complained are were moved. The tranquility of the beach is often polluted by amplified wedding music and ceremonies. The evenings are dominated by wedding music and dad dancing. So not a great hotel for a relaxing break.Therte was construction work around the pool. Construction work in reception and pile driving in the next door site.

Room Tip: Demand to see your room before paying inflated prices. Many rooms do not have sun on their balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel and when checking into our room found we were overlooking the pool but were on the end of the building next door to the building work that was been done to the entrance to the hotel - we had not been warned of this! We went down to reception and were offered another room over looking the lake for only a $20 charge per night. The room was very good with really comfortable beds and was well appointed. On our second day we had cause to ring down to reception during the late afternoon as we had a crowd of screaming youths on the lawned area below our room. They did respond well but were told that it was a group of middle school pupils on a school trip. The teacher with them was useless and his level of disciple with the boys was next to useless. Why would a hotel of this style allow groups of school children I do not know. Then during the second evening we had the noise of a wedding although a fair distance away from our room but only until 10pm thank goodness, however some of the guests were noisy on returning to their rooms. On checking out we did bring these issues up and got the extra charge dropped and also got a reduction on the bill. Excellent pool. The Boat house restaurant was excellent but wasn't cheap but the hotel lacks a larger place for breakfast and will benefit form the bar area when it is completed as there was nowhere else to get drinks on site.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any wedding when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#37 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.