We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!!!
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Cupertino, California
1 review
“Location is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just stayed for one night. The hotel has great location, and it is nice to walk to beach and view sunset. The room is clean and comfortable.The only issue is that we booked lake-view room, but it is actually half lake-view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    32
    20
    12
See reviews for
48
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself, my two teens, and our golden retriever stayed 3 nights during the week of Oct. 14th. We really enjoyed our stay! Check in was easy and welcoming. Noah was very kind and friendly. I had requested a fridge and he made sure it got there...infact, it arrived right after we got to our room, so we could get it cooling right away. The upgrades look great, the room was very clean and comfortable. Lots of pillows and plenty of towels. The fireplace is a great addition...so nice to warm up after being outside in the evening. The grounds are pretty and well cared for and they have made some nice additions for dog owners. There are several doggy bag dispensers and disposal cans around the perimeter of the resort. Makes it so easy in case you forget bags. Our dog loved it there! We had a ground floor which was very convenient and our patio door opened onto a nice grassy area. It was very quiet except for occasional foot steps from a child upstairs. We would love to come here again and take advantage of the volleyball net on the beach, the hammocks among the trees on the beach side, the pool and the restaurant that is open for breakfast. I felt the price was great for the location and how clean and nice the grounds and rooms are. I have read some negative reviews that I don't agree with we think this is a great place and the staff we encountered was very nice. If I were to give any suggestions to the resort I would say that a fridge being standard in the room would be great. I bet they are harder to come by in the busy season. Also it would be nice to have a continental breakfast included. That would make it feel like an even better deal! We will be back and I will also recommend The Beach Retreat and Lodge to my friends!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've been staying at this property for nearly 15 years; those being when it was the Best Western Timber Cove Lodge. Now I have to wonder if it is no longer a member of the BW "family" because it could not meet the requirements of the brand's new property designations (ie, premiere, plus, etc).
This was our first stay under the new management and name of Tahoe Beach Retreat & Lodge; very disappointed. We requested a King Beachfront room but only a double was available. However we were promised upon making the reservation via the property itself (NOT the website) and arrival that we could move after one night into a King Beachfront room...not true.
We were told a King Beachfront room was available, then it wasn't, then it was, then it wasn't. I was told that the property was "oversold" yet I went online and discovered there were King Beachfront rooms available. Obviously, they didn't want to accommodate guests already staying at the property, just those who hadn't arrived yet. And to add insult to injury, we discovered the room we had originally requested and told we could move into was actually occupied by only ONE guest; who checked in the day after our arrival.
On Day 3 of our stay, we had left our room simultaneously with another guest and both of us put our "housekeeping" placards on the door. Yet when we all returned two hours later, our room had not been serviced yet hers had...the room directly next door!!! This was the final straw...we checked out two days earlier than expected because it was obvious that we were not welcome at the Tahoe Beach Retreat & Lodge.
There were promises of a King room, "oversold" comments yet a King Beachfront room was available, no housekeeping services and no one interested in our stay upon check-out. Such a lack of customer service during our stay lead me to believe that our folio had listed us as "problem" guests but all we ever did was request a King Beachfront room. The Front Desk Clerk couldn't bring himself to ask about our stay upon check-out; little did he know that I would have NEVER expressed our disappointment to him. He had no involvement and/or control over the circumstances. I would have said it was "fine" and left it at that.
This property is betting on their "lake" location but if they continue with deceptive practices, faithful customers such as ourselves will look elsewhere. We LOVED it when it was a BW property; now, not so much!!!

Room Tip: The King Beachfront Rooms are the best but good luck getting one. The double beds are not designed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here five nights. This hotel has it's own beach, so that makes it nice to walk down to the water and relax. We paid for a lake-view room, and were very happy with it. The king bed room came with a shower/tub. Our son's room had two double beds, and it only had a shower, because the living area is larger with the two beds. Even in October, the pool was heated. Breakfast is not included with the room, and the restaurant was only open for breakfast. We enjoyed going to some of the many restaurants around town. What really made our time there special was the staff. Yvonne gave our son's family a room close to us and we really appreciated that. They were all helpful with giving maps or directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This used to be the best Western timber Cove in Lake Tahoe they've updated it a bit but haven't really change much. The room itself is cozy and nice and very clean and updated the bathrooms need updating. They are sufficient though for the location. It's right on the Beach. The beach is clean and the marina it's right there see you can rent paddleboards, kayaks anything you want. there's a restaurants on the dock and you can walk out on the views are amazing. They do allow dogs in certain rooms for an added amount and that's really nice too and dogs are allowed on the beach on a leash Hammocks are hung in the trees that you can lay on and watch the sunset which is really great. Outdoor swimming pool another Resturant inside and fitness center. Safeway across street and Cvs store and pharmacy right next door. Highly recomend staying here..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Received a great value on our room for a two day stay in October (off season). Received a room right on the water, nice fireplace and large bed.

Only complaints are the "little things" such as hard towels and paper like toilet paper. Honestly those were the only faults, not a big deal in our opinion so I would recommend this hotel. Would not recommend the restaurant on property, Boathouse on the Pier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was hotel number four of eight on our trip of the West. We were only here for one night on our way from Yosemite to Yellowstone. The hotel was fine, big room with good facilities. Lake Tahoe itself looks like it doesn't know what to do with itself between seasons so it probably isn't fair to make any comments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.