We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable room with a great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very reasonable room with a great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Right along the south shores of Lake Tahoe. we got a wonderful view facing the lake. Neat clean room. A minutes walk to the beach. Ample parking. Watersports right next to the pier. Very comfortable stay in the double queen bed room on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    105
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
102
147
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Waterfront setting was awesome but the flock of geese that lived (and crapped) all over the beach not so good. Great pier for watching sunsets with a glass of wine.
Rooms were clean but very small, balcony was a plus.
Rooms are very noisy between the old fashion AC wall unit and the small frig in the room that ran all night, and you hear everything, I mean everything, from the neighbors so sleep wasn't easy.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Live Music was good.

Room Tip: Select an end unit Beach Front or Water View on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a nice place to stay right on the beach. They have a lot of fun activities like live music and a movie night outside during our stay. Boat, Kayak, paddle board rental right there on the beach. My only detractor was the room was not very nice. Pretty cheap feel in the room and especially the bathroom. The fire place in the room was nothing special either. This is Lake Tahoe and you won't spend too much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Anne-d'Auray, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very good place just near the Lake. Sonder fil Beach access. Pleasant rooms. Pleasant and quiet lodges. Original building. WE arrived at the end of the afternoon coming from SF. Found a pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Location right on the shore. Make sure you ask for a lake view. It's not that close to state line but only 3 miles to it.The room was beautiful with cabin type wood inside, balcony view of the lake. Their is a pier with a bar and grill and one can rent water craft and toys. The pool area is great, the jacuzzi is surround by a wall of rocks so it is private. The have a restaurant there and on Thursday they had all you can eat pizza and pasta. Highly recommended. We will be going back there.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view or a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just stayed for one night but great little room with fireplace on the lake. Rented a boat right out front and went to emerald bay. Room was comfortable. There's a bar, pool, hot tub. We really enjoyed the hammocks overlooking the lake. Rooms are small but you don spend much time in them anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place in Lake Tahoe on the beach, and this definitely delivered! We had beach front access by just opening our sliding door and stepping out onto the beach. The rooms were small, but clean. If you want that ask for rooms B101 through B104, or the same with C101-104. There was a propane fireplace that kept the room nice and toasty. I had not spent any time in South Lake Tahoe before, but found it very nice. We rented bicycles right across the street and biked an 11 mile trail along the lake and communities on the south end of the lake one day. There were also rentals for powerboat, jet skis, kayaks and stand up paddle boards at the pier adjacent to the hotel. We tried the stand up paddle board one morning, and was quite fun as well. The views of the lake from this beach are outstanding even though it was very smoky from the Rim Fire in Yosemite. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more, and go for beach access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#13 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#12 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.