We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cross to Lake Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Suzuka-shi, Mie, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very cross to Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed the room front of the lake 2 nights, so location was so nice. This hotel is very convenience because there is Market just cross the street from the entrance. Our room is 1th floor that has chair ,table and fresh air at the out side. The hotel has one restaurant, but we went the market to buy some foods and soup. We hadn't much time to spend there because just 2nights so there were many activities but we couldn't do. We just took a lot of pictures. We did only one thing to go to another hotel in Nevada has big Casino.they have many luxury hotel at Nevada side. We had rental car and went there to having dinner buffet every night.we were enjoying them . Almost hotel in Nevada side hotel has dinner buffet and there were not expensive but we could have many sea foods salad and meat.
We recommend this hotel so we wish stay this hotel more times if we visit next time

Room Tip: We recommend front of the lake. So cross!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    31
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
75
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location on the beach, no doubt about it. Too bad so many other things wrong with this hotel.

We booked this room through Hotwire, which claims the hotel is 3 stars. There is NO way this is a 3 star hotel. Rooms are tiny, amenities very meager, no refrigerator in room.

Our first room still had pillows all over the floor and a dirty washcloth on the floor. Not a nice first impression. When I went to the front desk, the response was 'Weird'. And here was the sign of what the problem with this hotel is. Apathy. The entire stay, not ONCE did I get the sense that anyone we met, or dealt with, wanted to be there. Not once the entire stay did anyone say hello to us. Not the maids, not the guys working out on the pier, not any hotel staff. The front desk wasn't rude, but not particularly friendly. Maintenance outside pretty lacking, except around the pool which seems to have been kept up nicely.

But lots of areas needing painting, outdoor carpet fraying and lifting up, etc.

Our room had obviously been renovated. Some new things on the wall, a change out light fixture. Except no one even bother to fill the holes where the OLD one was mounted, or paint over the area. A new shade was installed in the bathroom in an attempt I suppose to make it more spiffy looking. Except no one bothered to remove the old mounting hooks from the OLD one.

The room was fairly clean, overlooked the pool and wasn't too loud. But for all the rooms that face the parking lot and Lake Tahoe Blvd, I can only imagine how loud. Might be time to change out the TV for a flat panel though, this is 2013!

All in all, I've had worse stays for sure. It's just a shame, because it just doesn't feel like the people here 'care' much anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't be too put off by the outside which resembles 1980's Butlins. This motel-style place has very nice clean comfortable rooms. Comfortable huge bed. The edges of the shower cubicle were grotty on close inspection, nothing a good scrub wouldn't sort out easily, so this was annoying. We were in E block and had a partial view of the lake. Ate at the restaurant on the Pier one night which was lovely. We were amazed at how quiet the beach and hotel was in mid August, quite peaceful! Had one breakfast in the hotel which was also good. Terrible weak coffee, but that's the USA for you.
We had a problem with our door, the lock-bolt was very loose and the door would close easily with the bolt out by just a millimetre, which meant we couldn't get back in. Our maid had clearly got in to service the room, but equally clearly had not been aware of the bolt, so when we came back we were locked out. It took half an hour for someone to come and let us in. Desk staff didn't have a clue what we meant when we tried to report the door bolt as too loose, and therefore faulty. They said they were all like that. We gave up!
Would stay here again, though, good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room was small but very clean. We injoyed our stay with our room 30 yards from the lake. My only thought was each room should have a refrigerator, we had our dinners out but had to discard our take home bag as there was no refg,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I reserved a lake view room two months in advance. It was supposed to be a very special romantic gataway. However, the room that we got was on the first floor facing parking lot and it had just a partial view of the lake. Since I paid about 170$ for it, I decided ask the front desk to give me another room. The other room was just slightly better. Still the lake view was partial. The window faced marina. The room was very small with old interior. Plus some service cars were working in front of the building at 7 am(!!!!) till 8:30 am!!! Not sure what they were doing, but they made a lot of noise which made us wake up. The only good thing is the fact that the beach is close. We are very disappointed with the experience. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We asked for a beachfront room. Room 104 truly is. We slid open the door and walked onto the sand. Lovely hotel with a nice pool, large hot tub, great restaurant and bar on the pier, and spectacular views. One of the best values in Lake Tahoe. The room was average, but comfortable. We sat on the patio mostly with our feet up, marveling at the view.

Located across the street from Chevys and a few doors down from Heidi's, which is outstanding for breakfast. Our kids loved this hotel and it could also be a romantic spot.

Pier has rentals for kayaks, boats, wave runners, and parasailing.

Great spot for Juky 4th fireworks.

Room Tip: Room 104 is perhaps the best room for location. Beachfront and corner location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've come here a few times over the past 20+ yrs. I've always loved the value for location. The rooms are small, but nice. Convenient motel parking. Great for the beach. I like the addition of the bar at the pier. On this last visit though, I may rethink returning.
Postive: Staff very helpful, location right on the beach. Convenient walking to Safeway across the street (with a Starbucks), other breakfast and eating establishments, and to the Tahoe Queen pier at Ski Run Blvd.
Negative: Noise. we had beachfront room and were surrounded by families with kids (which we are not). Someone was always screaming! I have little tolerance for this. Late at night, I could hear off in the distance groups that were likely partying. Also, I found the bed a little too squishy for my taste.
Balcony is nice to have, but small. If you want to Kayak, Jet Ski, etc., this is a great place. SKIP breakfast at the restaurant in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.