We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your priority!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Depends on your priority!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location and activities are really the best thing going for the place. The beach was great and we rented jet skis, paddle boards, and paddle boat. We walked from the back door of our room to the sand and had a great view from our beach front windows.

The rooms lacked micro wave, fridge, a tub, or much space. They have fridges avail if you check in early enough. The carpets were well worn which is expected with a location so close to the beach. Hotel staff were, with the exception of the bartender, mildly helpful. Over the course of our four day stay, we asked for recommendations for local restaurants, beach towels, and lounge chairs. Each time the front desk clerk promised a return call or delivery. Each time we had to fend for ourselves. Walking to the front desk was more successful than calling. One desk clerk was downright rude, the others were friendly, just lacking follow-thru. Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

So we booked a trip around California and scheduled 2 days at the beautiful lake Tahoe. Firstly, why did we choose the South side? Next, despite the reviews, why did we go for this shabby and outdated motel? The place is on a major road, so is never quiet. We went for the family suite, as this gave us 2 rooms and a mini-Kitchen. Sadly no bathroom: it was a shower and toilet, with a sink in a separate room...for 4 people!!! I have never seen a bathroom so small in a regular hotel. Beware that "garden view rooms" are really car park view rooms. Air con is so loud as to be unusable at night. Yes, the TVs are circa 1980 design. The room was clean but run down...needs a refurb. Breakfast was strangely peaceful...until you eat it and understand why everyone has gone over the road/4 lane highway to Safeways to buy food...indigestible. Son was ill. And the place is quite pricey in July. The positives are all outside. Lake Tahoe is beautiful. The hotel is right in the beach and the beach is clean, the water is cool, clear and fresh...very safe to swim, infact you can wade out a long way and see the bottom, it is so clear. Next door to the hotel is the pier restaurant where the food is average, but the drinks and atmosphere are great. We hung out in the pier most evenings, once seeing a sunset and moonrise within minutes. We ate at the restaurant, which has great service, but average food (rare steak comes as well done).

So if this hotel was anywhere else in America it would be one star / poor and I might even be asking for a refund. But this is harsh, and the local area around Lake Tahoe is so magical that I'll be nice enough to give 2 stars.

Room Tip: Refuse a garden view room...they're just car park view rooms and are noisy. Go for lake front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms. Nice food service. Easy access to beach and water sports. Comfortable rooms with wifi and tv. Very comfortable beds. Pool are heated. Very nearby to Reno and nice local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I paid $270 to stay here fof the night. The room did look like it does on the website however it is extremely small. The TV is out dated and the bathroom is small. In the tiny shower there is a push hand soap dispenser that is labeled "Hair and body wash". I found that to be kinda of tacky for such an expensive room. I paid a lot of extra money to get a room with a "view". This is no what I actually got. There was a view if you look past the parking lot and through the trees. Not exactly what I expected for the price I paid.

The grounds are nice and the beach access is awsome!! However I suggest staying away from the Boathouse restaurant on the pier. My girlfriend got a $14 burger thathad tons of grease dripping out of it. She ate half and was sick to her stomach for the next several hours. I had what the called a steak sandwhich and it was also terrible. Only nice part was the ambience.

The hammocks on the beach are awesome! I also the the night time movies at the pool was a great idea! The patio area by the office was a nice and inviting place. The bar inside was only manned for a few hours it seemed. My girlfriend and I went there at about 930 and there was no one tending the bar. I found this odd as it was a Saturday night. The outside buildings looked like they could use a little paint as well as the inside of the office could definitely use some work to make it look nice inside. There were exposed blue and white wires running up the wall. I found this to be VERY tacky. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are soft.

My BIGGEST complaint is their 3 o clock check in. Who wants to arrive in town that late? Or arrive earlier and have to sit there and wait for hours while your room is getting ready? This really upset me. I have never incountered this at any other hotel.

Overall this place is just above average. I would not pay $270 to stay here again. It is definitely NOT the luxury I expected to have after looking at their website. On the other side if you want to do just beach activities then this is your place. It is only $125-150 a night nice. I WILL NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in B112, Lakeview. At first we were disappointed because we thought we were getting a room that opened right up to the beach, but we ended up liking the location because we had a lawn area, which was slightly more private from the public and the kids could play safely in sight. It was still at the beach, just an extra few steps and still a fabulous view and you could walk right out to the pier.
HOWEVER-the carpet was DISGUSTING! We decided to stay because we would've lost one full night's rate and didn't think we would find a better location for the price ($169). Our kids were not allowed to play on the floor and we had a rule that everyone wore their flip flops when walking to and from the bathroom. The carpet was soaked by the slider door-either by dog urine or from others coming in wet from the lake. it was rippled and had even been stitched in one area. The room was tiny, but luckily we didn't send spend much time in it.
Another bummer is there is no fridge or microwave. We requested a fridge, but didn't get one. Thankfully we had a cooler. For a family of 4, 5 days, it was definitely inconvenient. Also, I was awakened by the sprinklers hitting our sliding glass door at 2:38 am. That happened twice during our stay. It was SO loud!
And yes, people do steal your plastic patio chairs. You might consider bring your own beach chairs and storing them in your room. I wish I would've.
They are dog friendly, unfortunately not all pet owners are responsible, so be prepared for dogs left in the rooms barking and watch your step!
We noticed the pool area dies down around 5 when people are starting to think about dinner. One early evening, we were in the hot tub and a man and his son joined us. My husband tried to make small talk with him and we ended finding out that he was an employee. That was kind of annoying considering we were paying a lot of $ for not a lot of amenities.
OK, so there technically is a restaurant and bar, but we NEVER saw anyone in it! The outside patio is super cute and inviting. We would've enjoyed hanging out there and not having to leave. It was a shame to see that part so wasted.
Also, the hotel will charge you upfront for your entire stay upon check in. that was a surprise!
Despite the negatives, we still had a blast and appreciated the location. It really depends on what's important to you. We read all the reviews and I guess it was the location that mattered most to us. We probably wont return, but we have great memories anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stinky dirty carpets, cobwebs, and old funky cheaply green plastic lawn chairs on the deck! This is a noisy mess! Two weddings in a row and the speeches and the music were blasting into our room until late at night. Not worth it! Staff is young and inexperienced, and along with your payment in advance with Expedia they take deposits that are refundable out of your account daily!! It whacks out your bank statements...and the exclamation they give you makes no sense! Rooms are small!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Retreat and had a lakeview. We had a great experience and loved this hotel. As others have said, the rooms are small, actually very small, but that did not take away from our experience. We enjoyed the pier and the great views during sunset The hammocks were great to spend some time in. We spent a good deal of time in the pool which was nice as it was heated. We went to the hottub late in the evening and it was not overcrowded. The service we received was excellent and enjoyed having a drink on the balcony. We plan on going back soon before the summer is over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.