We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Lake Views, Mediocre Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Glorious Lake Views, Mediocre Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

initial thoughts of this hotel were...okay...well, for the price, on the lake's edge, okay, this is what we get. Upon entering the room, some more disappointment, as it was smallish, and just so-so in appearance. Think upgraded Motel 6. King size bed and fireplace made it better than Motel 6. Small bathroom with shower only and small vanity area. Some construction going on as it seems the place is under fairly new ownership and they are working on making it a nicer venue. Okay again, as the price was reasonable, and they did not require more than a one night stay, as many places seem to in high 'season'. While the bed was king size, it was nothing special. Almost lumpy, and definitely needs replacing. The place is busy, with people out and about enjoying the lake, the pool, the Jacuzzi spa, and the beach. It is a biggish facility, so plan on taking some time to find a parking space, and working your way through the masses can be a challenge.

Major Pro: We had a Beach Room, and the views out the full sliding glass door were phenomenal! I mean, to die for gorgeous. There is a full wall window on the far side of the bed, so you get the view impact on two sides. We slept with the sliding glass door open so we could hear the waves lapping on the shore as we fell asleep.

The staff were lovely.

All in all, we would likely stay here again, because as we have said to our children on many occasions, "once you are asleep, all rooms look alike, so why pay a fortune?"

Room Tip: Choose an e-upgrade if you book onine. That is how we got a beach room, which was not available whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Carolyn,
Thank you for staying with us. These are indeed some of the best views you can find, and falling to sleep to the waves and waking to that sunset makes every day seem better! I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. We have recently undergone a change in ownership and are in the process of renovating all of our rooms. These should be done in the next week or so, so please come by and check us out. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
35
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed over the weekend, fireplace and coffee maker not working. Lodged official complaint to front office no action taken......the response from the guest service agent was there is nothing we can do. I called from my room as well no one came to check.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Pemum,
Please accept our apologies for your experience at the front desk. We took your comments seriously and are working on where the lack of communication happened on our end. Our front office manager considers his #1 role to be working with guests, making sure they are happy and solving any problems, so I was sorry to hear that you were not able to speak with him.
Thank you for letting us know what happened while you were here, as that is the only way we can address communication or training issues. We hope you come back this summer and let us show you a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The check in procedure was painful and trying. It would have been nice if they could have been honest. We paid extra for a lake view & balcony but they told us the rooms with blocked views cost the same and they told us that was what we would get. Later asking a second person at the desk she said we cancelled our lake view. What? They refused to let us talk to the manager. He was "busy". If you pay extra for a lake view room you may not get it but they want the higher price.
Then we found out the had major construction right next to the pool. Made the pool not worth visiting. We did not like the room or view and left after one night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wow! What a delightful place! The staff was fantastic from the first moment that I called and spoke with Noah who assigned us a lovely room with a gorgeous view! Also, Mario, Yvonne, Kevin and everyone at the front desk were so kind and helpful :o) Yvonne was so generous in allowing us a late check out which allowed us a blissful last walk on the stunning beach. The most amazing thing about this place is that it is right on the beach, and it's a quiet private feeling beach (at least in mid June). There is this very long, wonderful pier right behind the hotel, and it's so much fun to stroll down there and watch the sunset. One of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen in my life (as beautiful as a Maui, HI sunset). While you're there make sure to have breakfast at Kitchen34eleven. The menu is wonderful. We had the breakfast salmon pizza which is OUT OF THIS WORLD YUMMY! It's a fresh baked pizza crust topped with cream cheese, eggs, capers and smoked salmon. Exquisite. Luis used to work at Wolfgang Puck and he designed the breakfast menu, and it has some absolutely unique and delightful items. We also had the Antioxidant Breakfast which included 6 oz of grilled salmon, greek yogurt, blueberries, green tea and cantalope! Amazingly good! Luis, Hector and Juan provided fantastic service each morning and then we were off to walk that beautiful beach. I must also mention what a fantastic job that housekeeping did every single day, and with a smile! This is a well run hotel in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. It not a super luxurious hotel, but it's really comfortable and has everything that you need. We really enjoyed ourselves. For the price, it is a super value!! I can't remember the last time I got this much for my money. If you are looking for a relaxing, clean, well run, comfortable hotel with a wonderful breakfast at a very fair price, this is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When I booked a King-lakefront; I guess I was expecting a little more.

The room was small. Not particularly a killer but again the expectations were much higher. And "lakefront" was really "lake-partial-view-at-a-slant". Kind of annoying on top of that is when you sit on the small balcony; the railing is right at eye height. So you either stand on the deck and enjoy the partial lake view or stare at the railing. And when I say small ... the bathroom reminded me of a cruise-ship.

However, I will say that our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It was enjoyable to walk the long pier in the evenings.

The other slight disappointments was the lack of small refrigerator and microwave. Also the TV was an old CRT ... which are starting to become dinosaurs in their own right. We stayed in an ~old hotel in Truckee the night before that had a HD flat screen.

So the question of staying here again comes down to cost. If BRL@T was a decent discount to other lakeside property, then I might stay here again. But at even money; I would find another option.

Room Tip: There are only 16 LakeFront rooms and most others are partial-view. If it matters to you, be specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Beach Retreat as part of a family vacation in the Reno/Tahoe area. The hotel was in a great location right on Lake Tahoe with its own beach. The staff was helpful, pleasant, and exceeded what would be expected from a 2.5 star property. We stayed in a family suite, which provided room to spread out and a fireplace. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The property is not large so access to the beach is easy from any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
ElGuru71,
Thanks so much for staying with us and we are glad you had such a good time. Be sure to come back this summer for Summer of Sun and Fun, starting June 21. Later today, our website will have all of the details. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice king room w/fireplace & balcony - beautiful view of the lake & pier! The 2 restaurants on site had really good food & service! Enjoyed the private beach & pool, staff was friendly & helpful, nice room decor. We got a great value w/Travel Zoo deal, staying 2 nights w/a $40.00 food credit for $169.00!!! We checked into staying an extra night, but it would have been $139.00! Quick taxi service to casinos! Safeway is right across the street & there's a easy walking/bike trail out front that takes you to a nearby park w/awesome scenery & public beach. Can't wait to go back & would highly recommend-dog friendly too! :) Lots of amenities!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.