We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Process” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booking Process”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked my reservation from the living social I purchased. Being a business owner who has worked with groupon I understood the compromises you make with purchasing a discounted service. I called to schedule my dates and was sooooo happy with the service I received from the staff. Soo accommodating because it will be my honeymoon! After reading all the reviews and after experiencing such amazing customer service I can't wait! I never travel without my ear plugs so I am definitely looking forward to this amazing trip! My trip will be May 13-16

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    119
    58
    27
    16
See reviews for
133
156
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was traveling with my 85 pound German Sheppard dog. It's not easy to find hotels willing to accept large dogs. This hotel was GREAT. A perfect location on the south end of Lake Tahoe with easy access to Stateline. I'd stay there again with or without the dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a group of 10 and booked 5 lake view rooms. All of the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Allthough small, we all thought they had a warm and cozy feeling. The setting is lovely, right on a private beach with access to water sports and activities. There is a nice little restaurant and bar located on their pier which is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the spectacular Tahoe views. I don't recommend the lobby restaurant though, we had breakfast there and the food and service was not good. There are alot of other places to go within walking distance. There are some things you should consider before booking this place.
-Bring ear plugs, the heaters are really loud and you might have a barking dog next door.
-If you don't REALLY like dogs, this probably isn't the place for you. There are alot of them running around. We were there at low season so the price was good, I'm not sure the high season price is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms in building B, they are right at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places on earth and when I visit, I prefer to stay right by Stateline, but sometimes that just can't happen and this time, I'm glad I couldn't! I ended up staying at The Beach Retreat & Lodge and I loved it. When I drove up, I was a little concerned because it looks a little old and maybe a little outdated, but I was pleasantly surprised all the way around. The room was nice with a gas fireplace and nice hardwood molding throughout. The bathroom is small but plenty enough room to clean up.

I loved the location right on the beach and the nice pier and restaurant on the pier too, but the real gem for me was their restaurant located i the lobby! The food was good, the prices extremely reasonable and the staff was very nice.

While this might not be a 5 star location, I would highly recommend this location for all types of travelers, as I believe they have something for everyone, including free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice hotel for an average stay with a friend before hitting the slopes. Friendly staff, clean rooms, a queen is really for 1 person only. Enjoyed the hot tub, and almost enjoyed sleeping too, if the air vented heater was not turning on super loud every 15 minutes. The only option was turning it off, then found ourselves freezing. Wonder how other guests could sleep, noone mentioned the issue.
Result: slept about 2 hours and went to ski exhausted. Solution: stay here in the summer only, or bring ear plugs, or get so wasted that no noise will bother you, or try to warm up in some other ways... or just take the ski bus.

Room Tip: Bring earlplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here for a combination Valentines day and Birthday stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. The only negative was the toilet paper roll dispenser was super hard to work and the pay movies that the hotel offers are a whopping $16.00.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here 3 times before when it was the Best Western (not sure why it's not anymore). Anyways, one reason why we stayed at the Best Western before, was the fantastic complementary breakfast buffet. We were very upset that when the hotel was sold, they no longer offer the breakfast. They wanted to charge like $16 for adult and $8 kid for breakfast. Ridiculous! The restaurant was 100% empty (breakfast and dinner) the entire week we stayed there. The breakfast was very convenient before, especially with kids, and also for eating before hitting the ski slopes. The jacuzzi is too small also. It would be nicer if they added a second jacuzzi out by the pool. Great views, very convenient parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#11 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.