We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Paid extra to get a lake-view room. Was worth it. They have full size beds in their double beds though. The fireplace was fantastic! Parking is pretty convenient. The hotel also has beach access. Would be even better in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Location was great, room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace was a nice touch. Service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for simple clean convenient stay while In Tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great place to stay for a view of Lake Tahoe. Kids were able to play on the beach and in the snow. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms have gas fireplace and are very cozy. The beach is very nice and in the winter there is a small hill to sled on. The longest pier out into the lake is right at the hotel and is a nice walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor with a view of the lake open right up to the Lake Tahoe beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked online at the hotel website for a beach facing 2 double bed room. Arrived at the hotel, and they couldn't find reservation. They have 2 systems (pegasus and their own) and my reservation didn't get recorded on their hotel system. They commented that this is a constant issue for them and next time please use expedia or call directly. Half an hour later, I got keys to a single bed room. Went back and this time got keys to two double bed, parking lot facing at the price of beach facing. Went back and corrected rate. I thought that they are having growing pains after converting from Best Western until I saw my credit card bill. I was billed twice, once by the hotel and second time (their claim) pegasus. I have called and left message for their manager 4 times so far. No return calls. Now I am working with credit card company to remove fraudulent charge.

Room Tip: Watch your credit card for fraudulent charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
My apologies for what you recently experienced while staying with us. Though I am so sorry about the series of things that happened, I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know, so that we can address each of these issues, discover the breakdown, and fix the problem.

As you mentioned, we are going through many changes and one of those is to work to ensure that each guest is relaxed, feels take care of, and has a fantastic experience. This obviously is not what you experienced, so if you would please call me and leave your email or phone number, I would like to chat with you and discuss. Neither myself nor any managers I have spoken with have received any messages, so please ask for me directly. Thank you, and I hope we will see you again as a guest at The Beach Retreat.

Steven Scheck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Plus: Parking in front of room door makes ski gear loading/unloading easy
Room is not horrible once you're inside. Think remodeled 1960's TravelLodge with 2003 design.
Walk across parking lot for breakfast at Heidi's

Cons:
Well, it's not really even 3-stars now, is it?
It's a budget place. Next time I'll skip Hotwire and book a place I know for a few bucks extra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here in one of the 2nd floor balcony rooms, you could literally throw a stone into the lake from our balcony . The location is ideal, it would be an excellent choice for the 4th of July because of its location right on the beach. Beautiful sunset views right from your room, quiet grounds, updated rooms, cozy and comfortable beds. The fireplace in the room is a very nice touch. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They told us about the bar in the hotel lobby and about having lunch on the pier right off the beach. (this review was for when it was a best Western Plus) not sure if it has changed owners?

Room Tip: Balcony room, with view of lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This review is for the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, the old Best Western Timber Cove and it is for a summer stay.

It is a great summer location, right on the lake, close to golfing, Starbucks, Safeway and many other things that we found really helpful.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and it was ideal for a couple of days stay for us as we were up to visit friends in the SLT area.

it might not be my first choice in the winter for skiing, but then again, with the great rates they seem to give out for winter, I might live with the distance to the lifts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.