We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former BW Timber Cove Lodge, Great Summer Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe to your Saves list
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!!!
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Corona del Mar, CA
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
534 helpful votes 534 helpful votes
“Former BW Timber Cove Lodge, Great Summer Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This review is for the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, the old Best Western Timber Cove and it is for a summer stay.

It is a great summer location, right on the lake, close to golfing, Starbucks, Safeway and many other things that we found really helpful.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and it was ideal for a couple of days stay for us as we were up to visit friends in the SLT area.

it might not be my first choice in the winter for skiing, but then again, with the great rates they seem to give out for winter, I might live with the distance to the lifts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
47
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My only gripe with this property was that they did not completely honor my original terms of booking, which was done when the hotel was still a Best Western Property. they did not honor the free breakfast, which was one of the primary reasons I had booked this place (since we were traveling with kids). That said, their in house restaurant 34-Eleven is plain horrible. The service blatantly inexcusable, and the food always arrived cold - so much for made to order hot breakfast!

The hotel room itself was very nice. Our sheet were done and towels replaced while we were out. Lake view and an in-room fireplace was just what we wanted. Everything about the room was as promised during the original booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed over late December for a ski holiday.

The lake view is unbeatable. Our room was 50 feet from the shoreline. True they do not have refrigerators, but in winter we just used the balcony.

It is 2 minutes from Ski Run Blvd. Has ski rentals next door, a CVS two doors down, and a Safeway across the street. It is 1.5 miles from Stateline, which has the casinos and two cinemaplexes.

The lobby is very nice, fireplace, comfy sofas, a bar and a restaurant. I went there in the morning when my wife was still sleeping.

I had the breakfast burrito in the lobby restaurant, 34eleven. Service from Hector was excellent and the food was very good.

The lodge is well staffed for a place the rents rooms for $100 a night. I saw them wipe down the doors and windows in the lobby at 7 am. They put out a water dispenser filled with ice and sliced mixed citrus.

The maintenance man works from dawn till dusk clearing snow and I saw him put on a guest's chains for them. My room needed some minor maintenance, so I filed a report on the way out. Remember to do that when you leave in case I get your room next time :-) The parking lot was much better maintained the lots at Harrahs and Harveys.

The lodge allows pets, which is not a plus for me and my tortoise, but the dog people seemed pretty happy. Suggest that the resort not allow pets in top floor rooms to keep them cleaner and fresher for non-pet people.

Was pleasantly surprised at the price. In summer they charge 2 to 4 times more than in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was the first time for us as a family to go there & stay. We took all 4 of our dogs from the bully to the chihuahua & all of them were welcomed. We not only got a room to accompany all 6 of us humans but also the pets. They had access to the grass area right outside the room with front & back doors. Not only that we had partial view to the lake also. Just a few feet away from the pier & the sand area. Loved the place, loved the service & loved the view.

Room Tip: Have your utensils, water & plates with you in case you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.