We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great omelettes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hut Cafe

The Red Hut Cafe
3660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-1595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great omelettes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I go to Red Hut Cafe with my son several times a year when I'm hungry for breakfast. The omelettes are big and so is the portion of hash browns, twice as much as other restaurants. My usual order is a Monterey Jack, avocado and ortega chili omelette with raisin bread toast. The food at both the Red Hut on Ski Run and the small one farther down on highway 50 is the same, but parking is much easier at Ski Run and there is more comfortable seating there. I haven't been to the red Huts in Stateline, Carson City, or Reno yet, but I imagine the food is the same.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    103
    33
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea S.Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value, good choice, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had breakfast here a few times and liked it. We didn't have to queue for a table though they always seemed to be pretty busy. they seemed to be popular with local people as well as holiday makers which I always take to be a good sign

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast - I'd go back anytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is so worth going to if you love breakfast food. I went twice when I was in SLT, and didn't have to wait for a table, but I'm guessing it gets pretty busy at certain times. The place is small, but cozy. Definitely a tight squeeze. They have a jalepeño bacon that is amazing, and a chicken apple sausage that is equally tasty. Besides the traditional hot coffee and teas, they have a yummy hot apple cider, which was cinnamony and great. They have all sorts of traditional breakfast options available, and a bunch of unique specials. The waitstaff was excellent - efficient and good and pleasant, she got everything right. There is a bunch of memorabilia for sale- t-shirts and mugs and things, and cool historical pictures decorating the walls. Totally affordable. Absolutely worth it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We stop here every year for breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been having breakfast here for maybe 20 years. The wives have changes, the kids are grown up, but Red Hut continues to provide a great breakfast. Never disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We searched TripAdvisor to find a restaurant and decided on the Red Hut Cafe based on reviews. It was a great choice. The food was just delicious and the service and server were great. I had the meatloaf and my spouse had the baby back ribs and both of us were very pleased with our meals. After dinner we couldn't resist the ice cream parlor ride of Red Hut. It was delicious too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hut Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Red Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.