We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY - you will love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hut Cafe

The Red Hut Cafe
3660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-1595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chatsworth, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUMMY - you will love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

They have a soda fountain on one side, and dinner on the other if you want food first. Great atmosphere, fun staff. They serve breakfast all day which is a plus- my daughter loves breakfast :)
They also have a gift shop

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    113
    34
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A much better alternative than IHOP. The waffles were wonderful and the location was a local spin on a diner, clean and bright.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average Food, Bad Service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I decided to try this place because of all the positive reviews online....
The GOOD: The wait was short to grab a table for four and the breakfast was good.
The BAD: The service was horrible from our waitress. I did not get her name but she was the older women waiting tables with gray hair. First, she came to our table to take our order, racing all of us through the ordering process, then never came back. We were all out of drinks and I could see our waitress chatting it up like her shift just ended. Thank god for the other younger wait staff with some basic customer service skills because they were the ones who ended up picking up this women's slack. She finally showed up with my daughters food and was in a hurry to put it down just like she was when taking our order. My 9 yr old daughter brought in a picture that she was coloring and drawing (she was proud of it) and this waitress was in the process of slapping the food plate right onto it as my daughter was working on it. I actually grabbed the plate from her just before she put it down pretty much on my daughters hand, then she ran off to start talking behind the counter again. We will not be back ... there are other breakfast places to chose from in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Large servings of ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This review is for the Red Cafe Soda Fountain on the corner of Ski Run and Lake Tahoe Blvd, not the original Red Hut. We were hungry for ice cream and this restaurant was highly recommended. It is decorated like an old fashioned soda fountain. The employees were all young, energetic, and friendly. We got two scoops of ice cream each and the servings we amazingly huge. We were able to arrive back at our resort with the ice cream half eaten, put it in the freezer and will enjoy the rest later tonight. Will definitely return to get ice cream here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had breakfast here most mornings. It was very busy during the July 4th holiday, but the food was quality and they were quick. The Country Scram was great. This place is a staple in Tahoe!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hut Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Red Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hut Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.