We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hut Cafe

The Red Hut Cafe
3660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-1595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch while in Lake Tahoe. We both had a breakfast meal because of the reviews that we had read. The diner was packed and lively. The server went over the specials with us. I had the chicken and waffles. It came with two large chicken strips and a large waffle both of which were cooked well. All the people in the diner seemed to be enjoying their meals and I know we enjoyed ours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service and the food were both excellent! The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was busy and there was only a couple of waitresses. However, this did not stop the waitresses from delivering great customer service and providing for our refills and checking in on us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The concierge at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort recommended we walk across the street to The Red Hut for breakfast. The food was very good and the prices were much lower than the name brand restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pegsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible service for just OK food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went there for breakfast after our hotel owner recommended it. It was pretty crowded with hoards of people waiting around a disorganized counter. 3 confused girls at counter greeted us with -'We-are-crowded-so-we-must-be-good' look on their face. They wrote down our name on a list in the most absurd manner - by leaving 4 spots after the last name on list. Anyways we were waiting for the table and after 40 minutes we saw people who came after us going in. We inquired about the reason and they told us that we were mistaken, and they pointed out 4 names they filled in on the empty spots they left in between. We realized that they filled those blank spaces with parties of 4-6 people AFTER writing our name. COUPLES WHO LIKE TO ENJOY BREAKFAST SHOULD NOT GO THERE. Anyways after waiting for another 20 minutes we got the table. Around 2-3 people tried to ask us what we want. They were all confused and running around like idiots. Finally they got our order down, and then the ordeal began. After 35 minutes of waiting and observing complete chaos in the kitchen window (waitresses shouting for their order to be given out) we asked our waitress about our order. Her reply was -"It happens here, its busy". We asked her to cancel our order and without getting any certain reply on the request, we saw her shouting at kitchen window, and finally bringing the order out. Food was OK, I guess after 1.5 hrs wait any food looks OK. Not worth the time or money. Chaotic, rude staff. Avoid the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwistedReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If your sweet tooth is demanding and your tummy growling, this is the "must do for breakfast" spot. Located across from Tahoe Vacation Resorts, This "Pancake and Eggs" restaurant has great prices, great food, large portions. Be demanding with your waiter/waitress, they get crazy busy and the squeaky piglet gets feed!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hut Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Red Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing