We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We caught the biggest fish!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Sport Fishing

Tahoe Sport Fishing
Ski Run Marina, 900 Ski Run Boulevard, Suite 102, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-541-5448
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tahoe Sport Fishing is the only fishing fleet on Lake Tahoe. We fish Year Round catching Lake Trout Makinaw, Kokanee Salmon, Browns, and Rainbows. We depart from Ski Run Marina and Zephyr Cove MarinaTahoe Sport Fishing has been in business since 1953. Our main location is at Ski Run Marina we have a 2nd location at Zephyr Cove Marina. We have 7 boats ranging in size from 30' to 45' our boats are Coast Guard Certified! We can accomodate any size group you may have! We cater to the single fisherman, families, bachlor parties and Corporate groups! Call us today for a fishing trip of a life time!
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We caught the biggest fish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great 1/2 day on the lake! We were one of 3 couples on the boat. Fun group of strangers who quickly bonded and had a great time. Captain Bobby and first mate (?) Caesar were incredibly knowledgeable and hands on helpful to all of us. We caught 3 fish and brought them back to Overland Meat Co. for filleting and freezing the 2 larger fish. Only $5 a fish. Well worth it!!
The day was perfect weather-wise and it always helps to catch fish. Captain Bobby knew where to find them. Highly recommend this charter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Good Day's Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I went out with Bobby for what ended up to be a full day's fishing charter. He was knowledgable about the lake in taking us to various locations on Lake Tahoe in order for us to catch some fish. He was excellent in baiting our hooks,making sure that we were properly set up, and helping us land our catch. He made sure that our catch was properly cleaned and gave us recommendations on a local restaurant that would cook part of our catch for a great evening out and a local meat shop that would expertly fillet and vacuum pack the rest for us. Would definitely do another charter with Bobby the next time that we're in Lake Tahoe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our captain Bobby was the perfect host for our morning outing. He was helpful and knowledgeable about where to find the best spot for fishing. Our fish were cleaned as we headed back to shore which is a nice touch. Worth the time and expense. I recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salinas, ca
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great time on the lake with Captain Jimmy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just returned from a 4 day trip to South Lake Tahoe, which we do annually, however this was the first time we did a fishing tour, and it was a hoot. Captain Jimmy is the man, and I say this as he ran the whole show all by himself, from baiting the hooks, setting the reels, proping the down riggers, to running the boat, and anyone who has been on a guide knows that this is not a small job at all.
The boat we huge and in great working order, as it even has a nice cabin complete with a working toilet, which was critical for us, as my wife is pregnant. Our group of 6 only caught one fish, but it was still a great time as the views were awesome, and Jimmy was both personable and funny.
I will recommend that you take the early tour (7 am launch, I know it's a bear to get up that early when on vacation) but i say this as the lake is huge, and the wind picks up heavy more often in the afternoons than in the afternoons, which we did encounter at the end of our tour.
Be sure to bring snacks and take advantage of the oportnity to bring your own cooler as well, as even though they provide water, sodas, some coffee, and donuts/coffee, the beers and/or Baileys for the coffee is all on you.
In closing I would also like to mention that we had one rider, meaning she didn't fish, and she still had a great time. Also, be sure to dress in layers as you are at high elevation and the weather will change on you in a heartbeat, so do as the boy scouts and be prepared. Oh yeah, one more thing.... TIP YOUR CAPTAIN/CREW, as it's where they make their real money...no joke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent a nice afternoon fishing on the lake. Even though we did not catch our limit, we still had a great time. Our captain Jimmy was great. We were able to take our "catch" to the Blue Angel restaurant and have them prepare it for our dinner- it was wonderful. Great staff, great value!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Sport Fishing also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Sport Fishing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.