We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brothers Bar and Grill

Brothers Bar and Grill
888 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 541-7017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Another dive bar, good burgers and fries, affordable drinks. Very friendly, relaxed staff. Play dice games at the bar with locals for fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our local friends took us to this unassuming place on the busy Emerald Bay Boulevard that runs along the south shore. It is easy to miss this place with all of the motels and restaurants lining the roadway.

It is pretty small and I think that the video monitors might out number the chairs. We were there on a Sunday and the football fans were out in full force, and it was fun to watch several games simultaneously.

The food was very, very good. I had the parmesan crusted hamburger, which was amazing and my friend had the French dip sandwich. The fries were probably some of the best I ever had, with a nice crunchy exterior. I did not expect much when I walk in, but will definitely be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bar is a bar is a bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hungry and thirsty past 9 pm on the California side this place has changed little over the years. Healthy generous burger with good shoestring fries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Awesome local dive bar, excellent food, good service (it can get REALLY busy at times in this place and there are no waiters or bus-boys, just bartenders... somehow they manage to get the job done though). The drinks are cheap and you can sit outside in a nice garden area with patio and a fire pit. They have horseshoes too and do live music occasionally. The only bad thing about this place is the Reuben sandwich (I was really disappointed because EVERYTHING else I've ever had is really really good), and some of the surly local customers that can get pretty drunk here! All in all a fun place to hang out with great food and cheap drinks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Best burger ever! We enjoyed beers and burgers on the sunny patio. Great friendly service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brothers Bar and Grill also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Brothers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brothers Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.