We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid breakfast place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Pancake House

Heidi's Pancake House
3485 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
530-544-8113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Hartford, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Heidi's has been around for a long time. They do a great breakfast and I really like the Alpine influence especially since it makes sense here in Tahoe. Wait staff is prompt and courteous and the food selection is great and tastes great too. I believe the one in South Reno is better but my dad the breakfast guru disagrees. Breakfast is a little on the pricier side but you get what you pay for so it's aok. CVS is right next door making last minute trip shopping for medicine, toothbrush, or quality shampoo an easy part of getting breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    95
    77
    51
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bad Food Bad Service - Save your Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped by on a Monday @11:00am, there were 8 people in the restaurant. We waited for the server to bring menus, waiting for the busboy to bring water, waited for the server to bring order. It was not worth the wait. I ordered a veggie omelet, a cup of coffee. The omelet was watery, like the eggs were watered down, could not finish it. The toast came about 5 minutes before we left. My husband ordered the Special ham and cheese sandwich and water. The bill came to $31.00!

Keep driving past - a real disappointment!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Decent menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast. I had the country skillet (potatoes eggs gravy) and a blueberry muffin. The muffin was fresh and light and the skillet was good enough tho I didn't think it had much flavor. My husband had eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy. He ate it all but said it was just "ok". Our total was 30$. Service was quick and friendly. We were in and out in 30 min.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

2 of us went there for breakfast and enjoyed it. The omelets has lots of cheese and the french toast was cooked just right. I have been here before, about 5 years ago and this place is still great. Would go back in a heart beat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, but not at Heidi's...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our breakfast experience at Heidi's didn't start out great - and went downhill. When we walked in, we thought the decor was cute - very rustic-cabin feel. However, we were taken all the way to the back - and the most appealing aspect of the back room is that it has a view of the parking lot. My husband inquired about sitting in front and was informed that the seating is arranged to share customers equally among the wait staff.

Our waitress chatted with us the entire time we were trying to read the menu, which made concentration difficult. Our food arrived within 5 minutes of ordering and was dismal. My plate was greasy underneath - as I found out when I moved it and ended up with appallingly oily hands. I ordered corn beef and eggs; the corn beef was straight from a can. The fried potatoes that were on the side had a rancid taste. My husband had 2 pancakes with 1 egg. He said the egg was O.K., but the pancake was nothing special. And -- the most important aspect of breakfast - the coffee - was terrible.

We come to Lake Tahoe frequently, but will not return to Heidi's. It is overpriced and the food is a disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Pancake House also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heidi's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.