We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing/Over priced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Pancake House

Heidi's Pancake House
3485 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
530-544-8113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We've been providing top quality local food and service since 1964.Heidi's Pancake House, as our locals have named us, is the perfect spot to enjoy a delicious meal with a group of friends. Not only do we serve breakfast, but we also have burgers, salads, beer and wine. We also cater! Locals love us and tourists do too. Stop by next time you are in the South Lake Tahoe area!
Perris, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing/Over priced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Do not go to Heidi's! Their food was not "great." I had bisquits and gravy, and the gravy was horrible! Red Hut Cafe has better tasting food and better prices!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    92
    61
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always busy ... that's a good sign.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've been at Heidi's a few times and every time there are tons of people. The breakfast is absolutely great and meets any expectations. Thanks for my favorite (Eggs Benedict) always great!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very average, disappointing pancakes.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was quite busy when we were there, so this might explain our experience. My fiancé received his breakfast 5-10mins before mine, no big deal but my 6 stack pancake arrived, with 5 pancakes. They served up the 6th pancake, which was white and verging on being slightly uncooked, on a separate plate. When the coffee was poured the waitress was in such a rush it was dribbled across the table every time! Good omelette but pancakes were not the best. I love pancakes and these were pretty disappointing. I also asked if I could have 1/2 blueberry and 1/2 strawberry topping, apparently this would cost $1.50 extra because of how it would 'go in the computer'. Come on Heidi's!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Omelet was barely room temperture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ordered the special house omelet with Monterey Jack cheese, bacon and avocado and thought it tasted ok it was barely warm and the cheese on top wasn't melted. The hash brown potatoes were also not hot and burned as well. My husband had the crepes with apple compote which looked like they opened a can of pie filling and spooned it on top. The corned beef hash was clearly out of a can. I was surprised when the bill came to over $30. Stay home and cook an egg. It ill be better. The high side is that the servers were very cordial and made consistent effort to bring coffee and ask if there was any thing we neded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and spot on service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There is a great selection of food, and they have service down to a science without seeming rude or pushy. If there is a big crowd waiting, it won't be long. Be patient, because it's worth it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Pancake House also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heidi's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.