We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bears, Oh My!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Richardson Corral

Camp Richardson Corral
4 emerald bay rd. (hwy 89), South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-541-3113
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Camp Richardson Corral offers horseback rides through Lake Tahoe national forest. All tours are guided and at a walk. Trail rides may include beautiful views of Lake Tahoe, Fallen Leaf Lake, Taylor Creek, along with beautiful mountain meadows and forests.We also offer hay wagon rides, pony rides, pack trips and boarding facilities.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bears, Oh My!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family took the 1-hour ride which was about enough for an inexperienced rider. The horses were well-adapted for the environment and the only issue was beyond the staff control. There some loud hikers on the normal trail so they took an alternate trail. The alternate trail happened to be occupied by a momma black bear and her two cubs. This was quite an experience but it also says something about the area. It's kept pretty natural and you get a true back-woods experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horseback riding in the Sierra's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

These are well cared for horses. Nice trail ride geared toward the riders ability. They worked with our timeline. Our guide was a great conversationalist and it was like riding in the woods with a friend. You need shoes with a slight heal and jeans.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Family Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

beach in the woods. clean bathrooms, beautiful beach, cute cabins, restaurant with a great deck and live band. I see a family trip in our future!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great for beginners, calm horses, wonderful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did the 2 hour ride up to Fallen Leaf Lake as a group of 2 adults and 4 kids, the youngest being 6. The horses were very calm and the leader of the group was very friendly and told us a lot about the area as we took a meandering stroll through some beautiful scenery.

The approach to Fallen Leaf Lake by horseback was great and the views were awesome.

It gets dusty so bring a scarf/bandana or use one of theirs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time Tahoe visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My son and I had a blast. Our guide Wes, was very patient with my 10 year old and all his questions. He pointed out local sights, plant life, talked about regrowth after a fire several years ago as well as the changes logging has made to the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Richardson Corral also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Camp Richardson Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Richardson Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.