We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback riding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Richardson Corral

Camp Richardson Corral
4 emerald bay rd. (hwy 89), South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-541-3113
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Camp Richardson Corral offers horseback rides through Lake Tahoe national forest. All tours are guided and at a walk. Trail rides may include beautiful views of Lake Tahoe, Fallen Leaf Lake, Taylor Creek, along with beautiful mountain meadows and forests.We also offer hay wagon rides, pony rides, pack trips and boarding facilities.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horseback riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

$40 for 50 min horse ride. Very scenic. Go on a weekday if possible, to have the scenery all to your self.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can take the gal out of Texas, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can't take Texas out of the gal. We love to take a trail ride while at Lake Tahoe. It was our 3rd time to use the Camp Richardson Stable. Good riding stock tailored to fit your riding experience - or the lack thereof. Such a pleasure to breathe the mountain air - or dust, if you bring up the rear!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Won't come back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I made a reservation for a Tuesday ride at 12:00 noon for 6 people. I called the Sunday before my ride to see if I could add to my group and was told that at 6 people our group was full and could not add.

When our group arrived the day of our reservation i was told we showed up the wrong day and our reservation wasfor Wednesday instead. No apology or consolation for their mistake, I was just told that i showed up the wrong day and that my reservation was for Wednesday. Never mind we would have never made a reservation for a day some of us would not even be in Tahoe.

Mistakes happen and a sincere apology would have gone a long way. The corral uses a handwritten book to make reservations and it's easy to see how they can make a mistake.
They obviously have more business they can deal with and aren't too concerned if they mess up somebodys vacation.

I won't be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We plan on camping here within the next few summers. It is absolutely beautiful. There are more public (busy) beaches as well as more private beaches. The trails are well-kept. Bikes are readily accessible for rental. Cabins can be rented by the week for $800.00 which is fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always a fun ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The views are spectacular, the guides are well informed and concerned about your safety. A fantastic way to spend some time and "feel" the abundance of nature all around you.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Richardson Corral also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Camp Richardson Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Richardson Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.