We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallac Historic Site

Tallac Historic Site
State Hwy 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530 541 5227
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through the former summer homes and gardens of four wealthy gilded-age families.
Loomis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tahoe History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Your missing the true flavor and history of the Lake Tahoe area if you don't pay a visit to this site. The annual Gatsby event is a highlight.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    61
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fun and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

great place to take a easy walk in south shore, good for history buffs and out of town visitors who want to learn about the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Please do Not Miss this Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were walking in snow..My toes were frozen and I could not leave..It was mesmerizing..A walk back in time to the beautiful
1920's...Close your eyes and love this moment in time

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Big Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've been to Tahoe too many times to count and have never visited the Tallac site. We have often gone into Tayor Creek which is adjacent to Tallac to enjoy the trails and fish spawning, not knowing that such a gem existed just a few hundred yards away. Went because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! Lots of buildings, historic information, gardens and views of the lake. Can't believe I'm saying it, but it was a highlight of the trip. We went twice, and really enjoyed our early morning visit with the morning sun filtering through the trees that were turning color. A "Don't Miss."

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“History Buffs Will Love This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Every year, we make our way around these grounds to enjoy a bit of history and nature. We like to pack a lunch and spend a few hours out there wandering the grounds and seeing what's new. It's adjacent to Kiva picnic area and the Taylor Creek Visitor Center (MUST DO!). Many paths and most buildings are accessible.

Between June and September there's usually a Tallac interpreter for heritage programs, guided walks, building tours, demonstrations, behind the scenes peeks, and more. Though the buildings are closed during the winter, people go out there for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallac Historic Site also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Tallac Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallac Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.