We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Rooms - Enjoyed 4 Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Chalet Inn to your Saves list
Tahoe Chalet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute Rooms - Enjoyed 4 Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Although this motel is a bit dated (as most are in South Lake Tahoe), the 'theme' rooms are a nice touch and the staff is VERY helpful. Traveling as 2 couples, our reservation put us in a nice room with a canopy bed. But our friends were put in the 'back' part of the motel away from us in a nicer room with a 2 person Jacuzzi tub off the bedroom and separate from the bathroom/shower... so the friendly manager upgraded us to a similar room next to theirs, also with the tub. We found the bed very comfortable and slept well all four nights with no distractions. We also enjoyed the tub (it's HUGE) although getting the jets to work was a bit tricky.
They have a continental breakfast (did that three of the four days... great raisin toast and English muffins with OJ, etc.) and also offer special 2 for 1 at the IHOP down the street (did that once and it was great... save $9 off breakfast). The wedding chapel area is a nice place to relax and read.
Altogether is was a nice place to stay and worth the $80/night mid-summer. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms off the main street (2 story) are good. We stayed in rooms behind the motel and across a stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-of-Clovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Doug-of-Clovis,


We would like to thank you for taking the time to give the Tahoe Chalet Inn a great review. It is our pleasure to make sure all our guests are taken care of no matter what time of day it may be. Our staff is exceptional in all things customer service related and we thoroughly enjoy making each guest feel special each and every stay. So I will be sure to pass along your compliments. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit with us.


Best Regards,


Alvin P
General Manager
Tahoe Chalet Inn and Chapel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com because we needed a place to stay that wasnt expensive and we just needed a room to crash in. I wasnt willing to pay $80 a night or more for a Super 8 or something like that, so I was thankful we found this place when we booked.

Check in is at 3:00 and if you want to check in early be prepared to pay a $10 fee. We had an event in Tahoe and had to check in early or we would have been checking in at 11pm, which we didnt want to do, so we paid the extra $10. The people at the front desk were very friendly. We were asked when checking in if we wanted the continental breakfast or the coupon for a buy one get one at IHOP. We chose the continental which you get little tickets for, to give them when you decide to have breakfast. I thought that was a little bit strange but maybe they have problems with randoms coming in and trying to eat? If I may make a suggestion and choose the IHOP two for one instead of the continental? It was lack luster to say the least. We gave our tickets back and asked for the coupon and went to IHOP to eat.

The property is pretty well taken care of. It is rustic and I am sure it is even more beautiful in the snow. We were here in late June. Our room was #109. The rooms are quite small. At first glance it was quite quaint, and a little bit romantic. Once we stepped in my opinion changed a little bit. You see this beautiful 4 poster canopy style bed. It is draped with see through material that is pretty. When you see what it is draped on you will see that it is not quite sturdy. One of the rods on the bed we were in was bent. If you grabbed one of the bigger poster type poles they werent very sturdy either. The bathroom is quite small. The toilet sits facing the sink, so if you have someone who is tall you might have an issue with knees hitting the sink. The shower is just an average stand up shower. We didnt even have time to use it so I cannot comment on water pressure or anything like that. The carpets have seen better days that is for sure. There was a burn in the carpet by the bed on the side closer to the bathroom. Couldnt tell if it was originally a cigarette burn or not but it was bigger than that. The ceiling was a bit weird when you layed down and looked up(pics included). The window in this room looked out to a white brick wall that was in a small little alley way next to the room. It was great for the morning time because you couldnt see any light(except the light that lights the little alley) so we didnt know what time of the day it was, it stayed quite dark in the room. The room temperature was naturally quite comfortable, we didnt have to use the thermostat. The bed was decently comfortable. It was firm enough and soft enough and I couldnt complain one bit about my nights sleep. The fixtures are a bit on the dated side as well as the furniture. Alot of this stuff doesnt bug me, but I put it in my review for people who might not want this type of thing in their hotel rooms.

This is probably one of the least expensive places you will find around this time of year in Tahoe, so the price is good for the area. Overall it is a decent place to stay. Friendly staff, reasonable rooms(even though they are small).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LearyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear LearyTraveler,


Thank you for your previous stay with us at the Tahoe Chalet Inn . We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with us. Its guests like you who are the true travel experts.

As you can imagine it disappoints us to read some of your comments regarding your experience with our hotel. We take comments such as yours very seriously, because we care about the quality of your experience from the instant you make your reservation to the moment you leave our hotel.

I have investigated your comments and have taken steps to make sure
that the problem you experienced does not happen again. As on going effort, we are under renovation and under new management.
Please know that I have addressed this issue with all of our maintenance staff to make sure they understand our policies and Preventive Maintenance are for the guestrooms. As the new GM, I am very excited and look forward to improve the quality of our rooms and the service we provide.

The new management team is eager and ready to please all of our guests with quality rooms and exceptional service. We are constantly updating our rooms and trying to make them comfortable for all of our travelers. I will personally go over the room that you were in and update it as much as I can.

We appreciate your patronage and I would like to have another opportunity to make up for the problems you experienced, and earn back your trust. I am certain that we have accommodations you will enjoy. Our team here at the Tahoe Chalet Inn, South Tahoe we really enjoys taking care of our guests...

If you travel to our area again, please call me direct so I can personally assist you.


Yours in hospitality,


Alvin P.
General Manager
Tahoe Chalet Inn and Chapel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

All we wanted was a nice comfortable room to stay a couple of nights before we headed to our next destination and we found this lodging online. It looked pleasant with reasonable pricing. On arrival we were assigned a room on the ground floor with car lots right infront as we had heavy luggage. We were given a room at a corner next to the laundrette. It was quiet and comfortable with a poster bed and enough furniture to make the room appear small. The nice thing about this place was the breakfast they provided.... simple breakfast items like a variety of bread, cereals, juices, tubs of yogurt and lots of coffee. We did not have any room for complaint because it was a good hotel with good pricing and service on a good location!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyonyaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear NyonyaLady,


Thank you for posting such a detailed and positive review of your recent stay at Tahoe Chalet Inn and Wedding Chapel. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff as well as the various hotel amenities. As well, we are so glad to hear that our location (by the lake and casino's) was a big factor in making your stay a pleasant and comfortable one.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Yours in Hospitality,


Alvin P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We made our reservations for an upgraded theme suit, and paid the upgrade price. When we checked in they say "oh you wanted a room with a spa tub". They tried to put us in a standard room that had a four poster bed and a shower and tub unit, but hey the tub had jets. WRONG! My husband went back and pushed the issue, and they guy at the desk actually tried to down play the themed rooms. He finally gave him a key and told him to go check one out. WAY BETTER, and bigger than the first room. Be specific about which room you want. If you get a room in the front they are NOT their themed rooms. Those are out back across the alley way in like little cottages. Out by their wedding chapel. Next time I will ask for the room by name. The room was very quiet and secluded, and we ended up really enjoying our stay dispute the bait and switch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlhaefele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked the one facing the courtyard through Tingo. I don't remember seeing any courtyard.
First the good things: People at the reception were nice. The room came with continental breakfast which was really good. Not over the top but quite adequate. We just needed a place to stay so this satisfied our requirements.

Things we dint like: bathroom had a small stall shower. We would have preferred a tub. Room made all kinds of creaking noise during the night. So not a good idea for light sleepers like my husband. Heater also made a racket while turning off and on during the night. Since there was no fan or anything, Room was not ventilated enough.

Overall no complaints as we got the roomt for a good price at a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way to San Francisco because the price was right. The room was small and it had a four-poster bed (which made the room seem even smaller) but it was very romantic! The bathroom was huge in comparison - almost as big as the bedroom. The Inn was very conveniently located but I would aim for closer to the gondola if I were skiing at Heavenly. The continental breakfast was a nice surprise - they had fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as the usual bread and muffins. I would recommend this place for a couple who were passing through town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


It is so rewarding to read that you had a such great stay with us. Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the room, convenience of location, and friendliness of the staff. Our goal is to give our guest the best possible experience, and I am very glad that we were able to accomplish that. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area!


Yours in Hospitality,



Alvin P
General Manager
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unbeatable for the price, clean and close to everything. Staff are nice and helpful. They even contact you before your arrival to straighten the reservation and entertain our requests. Someone said the room is small, so we are a bit worried about storage space. Turns out the room has plenty of storage for our 6-day trip.

The room is clean and tidy, with Jacuzzi. Some said the room is old, we think that's the charm of its vintage room. Wifi is quite fast. Heater heat up the room quite fast in these cold days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windtasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your past stay at the Tahoe Chalet Inn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next stay at Tahoe Chalet Inn and Chapel...


Warmest Regards,


Alvin P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#25 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#38 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#32 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Chalet Inn

Address: 3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Tahoe Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing