We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Chalet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Chalet Inn to your Saves list
Tahoe Chalet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Nice room and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unbeatable for the price, clean and close to everything. Staff are nice and helpful. They even contact you before your arrival to straighten the reservation and entertain our requests. Someone said the room is small, so we are a bit worried about storage space. Turns out the room has plenty of storage for our 6-day trip.

The room is clean and tidy, with Jacuzzi. Some said the room is old, we think that's the charm of its vintage room. Wifi is quite fast. Heater heat up the room quite fast in these cold days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin P, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your past stay at the Tahoe Chalet Inn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next stay at Tahoe Chalet Inn and Chapel...


Warmest Regards,


Alvin P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WINDSOR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

So hubby and I decided to get away and found something saying theme rooms. Hmm could be interesting. This place is older but I think it adds to the charm of it.
Close to downtown for dining and gambling.
This place is split in 2 lots we stayed in the back area near the chapel which was quiet and I preferred it. Most the beds they have are queens or doubles and not the best quality. Our room was Egypt and this has no living room for us to watch tv together. A small wet bar kitchen and jacuzzi tub downstairs with sleeping upstairs.
Will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The room looked pretty enough, with a nice four poster bed and quaint decor, however the bed was really uncomfortable and the AC unit in the bedroom itself didn't work, there was however a fan unit in the bathroom which provided ice cold ventilation, but this had only two settings and even the lowest cool setting was like sitting in a freezer and the air flow was so strong it was difficult to even open the bathroom door! The curtains aren't the best, and it's pretty noisy due to location to the main road
Location was good and staff friendly enough on check in

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice price, clean, close to everything and staff very nice. Did not stay in a themed room....thought about it, however, decided to save the few dollars for a bottle of wine. Continental Breakfast was what it should be...juice, yogurt, cold cereal, bread, etc.. Lite sleeper...road noise. Usually sleep with white noise (fan). No fan in room...thank goodness for Internet connection. Downloaded a white noise application and slept through the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to book the theme suite and it was one of the best places we stayed on our whole 5 1/2 week trip. The staff was great and they even called the night before to straighten out our reservation, as the site I reserved from kept putting down that we had 3 children. This motel is spread out across another road so it was involved getting to our suite. But when we checked in, he said it would be worth it and it was. I was anxious to see what our suite was and upon entering you could see it was Egyptian. The theme was carried on through out the whole suite, which included the bedroom up the stairs. Everything you could possibly imagine for your comfort was there, fluffy towels included. But the best had to be the hot tub. It was super size and the location was in the kitchen area, but it was so relaxing especially since they had a stereo system that I could hook up my IPad and have relaxing music while soaking. And it was so quiet and the bed so comfortable we had a great sleep.

Room Tip: Do spend a little more and get the theme suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had quite a few (35+) family and friends gather here for a 3 pm wedding. We did not stay at this hotel, but one close by. Ruth Ann and the whole staff was very helpful, and the wedding chapel is very beautiful; Victorian-themed, with nice light for pictures. I was surprised how easily it came together; they had a minister/notary come, all the paperwork was done very quickly, and we took our time taking pictures with everyone in the beautiful courtyard outside the chapel after the ceremony. We got lots of good pictures and beautiful memories out of the experience. We didn't feel rushed out, even though we may have exceeded our allotted time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ok, everyone to his taste, but we didn´t like the Tahoe Chalet Inn. The rooms are dated and dark, but clean. Quite small (bed)rooms, but a large bathroom (strange combination, we put our luggage in the bathroom as there was more space there). Location is good, free parking and close to the attractions (gondola, the lake and the casinos).
The design is awful, but ok, as I said, different tastes. Breakfast is a joke, the continental breakfast is more of a "we have coffee for you" and the offer to give a discount voucher for IHOP instead is not a very good compensation.
As a summary: Ok, but overpriced for what you get. Clean, but that´s it. Wouldn´t stay there again if I had any other option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tahoe Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Chalet Inn

Address: 3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Chalet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.