We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Chalet Inn

Save Saved
You added Tahoe Chalet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahoe Chalet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Tahoe Chalet Inn. Best of all, the service was great. Eric was kind enough to accommodate me for my very late check in, and the woman the next day at the front desk was very friendly and greeted all the guests, trying to ensure they were comfortable. Service far surpassed any comparably priced motels.

The continental breakfast was good, with more than enough cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and other things to fill you up.

As far as the room, nice touch with the poster bed, which again distinguishes this place from comparably priced options. The room was comfortable and cozy and most importantly, clean. I wasn't too crazy about the shower just because it was very small and tight, and the design of the bathroom actually would allow for a much larger shower (there is a lot of empty space in the bathroom). But overall the room was great.

Location is also very convenient.

All in all, I had a great comfortable stay at the Tahoe Chalet Inn and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location is perfect - 5 minute walk to heavenly village and the shops, restaurants and bars and about 10 minutes to the lake. We only used our car once while here which is also a bonus. The staff and excellent - very friendly and welcoming and recognise you after a day or 2 even when it is busy. Breakfast is plentiful and breakfast time is very flexible which makes a nice change. Room is spotlessly clean. Decor is a little dated but great value for friendly, clean hotel in great location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was up in South Lake Tahoe for business, and had to stay an extra day. Tahoe Chalet Inn was recommended to me, and since it was easy walking distance to my business appointment, I decided to stay there.

The room was clean and well appointed, but the staff was what made the experience Very Good. They greeted me by name, explained the layout, and made some great recommendations on where to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I love the Lake Tahoe area... one of the most beautiful spots on the planet. I worked with the staff for a special romantic stay. I can unequivocally state that the staff wen WAY ABOVE AND BEYOND anything I requested! I had a few very specific requests... which were simply taken care of. The only problem with my stay was the fact that it was only for 1 night... I won't make that mistake again - and the Tahoe Chalet Inn is the place to stay!

If it's in your budget, upgrade to one of the suites. They are off the main drag so they are nice and quiet - lots of room to spread out, beautiful jacuzzi tub, fireplace...

Room Tip: Trust me, upgrade to one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear "VolvoCowboy"
Thank you for the most remarkable and wonderful review. We enjoy comments like yours post them for all employees to see that their efforts do not go unnoticed. We look forward to an early return.
Cordially
Peter E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had only planned to stay one night on our road trip but this became two nights due to the fantastic location, but also clean, comfortable hotel room decorated in a wonderful theme with four poster bed. Ample parking, continental breakfast and free wifi were added perks. Will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear "samnoli"
Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent Tahoe Chalet Inn stay. We're delighted at the many accolades and look forward to your early return.
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff
Cordially
Peter E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Manager/Owner Peter was so Helpful as well as Erick what a nice guy, both give to us a lot of Tips on what to do because it was out first time there and give us a different coupons to use... The Room was very Clean and I love the decorations, very comfy, defiantly we have to come back but this time w/ my kids ♥

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear "familybaluga"
Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comment about the Tahoe Chalet Inn. We very much appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you and the family back hopefully very soon.
On behalf of everyone here, thank you again very much for your kind endorsement.
Cordially
Peter E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic place! Full value for money! The hotel is close to everything and the owner, Peter, is very nice and helpful. He gave us a lot of tips about the area we could use. We would love to stay there again. The hotel gets all of our recomendations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, General Manager at Tahoe Chalet Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much "Naflo10" for your "Brilliant" review.
We're delighted that you enjoyed our services and hope to have you back at the Tahoe Chalet Inn in the near future.
Cordially
Peter E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Chalet Inn

Address: 3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Chalet Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tahoe Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Chalet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.