We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit that spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza

Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza
4000 Lake Tahoe Blvd, Ste 2, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 541-0813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Great pizza restaurant! Dine In, Pick Up and Delivery. Easy online ordering- with free cinna or bread stix. Great for families and groups, free Wi-Fi, outdoor seating, slices, happy hour beer specials, TVs, deals and coupons, open late, 2 South Lake Tahoe locations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hit that spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I went there after spending the day hiking. It was getting late but that did not affect the quality of the food and service. Waiters were courteous and patient: they made recommendations that we really enjoyed. I appreciated the fact that they did not try to upsell us (i.e. 'Get the larger pizza and add more toppings, you can always take the leftovers home).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    69
    33
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good little pizza joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped into Blue Dog with family while in Tahoe on vacation, and found it to be a really good. The pizza is the focus here, but we also enjoyed the salads. The pizza has a moderately thick crust, with no scrimping on toppings. The place is fairly basic, with pizza pans serving as their version of plates. Nice beer selection, friendly staff, and reasonable prices. Seems like a local place even though the 2 locations I'm aware of are located very near the tourists areas of S. Lake Tahoe and I'm sure attract its share of out-of-towners, like us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“REALLY GOURMET PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were camping in So. Lake Tahoe and asked the gal at the check in desk if she would recommend a pizza place. We went to Blue Dog, on her recommendation, and what a winner! We "built our own" pizza and the toppings were very generous and delicious. The crust was medium thick, not really thin which we prefer, however the sauce and toppings trumped the crust. The Blue Dog offers draft beer which goes great with their pizza. Very happy with this restaurant and would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizza ... Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted pizza for dinner ... and planned on eating at another place across the street. The wait was too long ... so we ate at Blue Dog and glad we did. The pizza was great, exceptional service, good draft beer selection, and fun environment. A lot of great pizza at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Blue Dog delivered delicious pizzas without issue. I'm from Chicago, and we know a good pizza when we see one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.