We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and open late” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza

Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza
4000 Lake Tahoe Blvd, Ste 2, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 541-0813
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Great pizza restaurant! Dine In, Pick Up and Delivery. Easy online ordering- with free cinna or bread stix. Great for families and groups, free Wi-Fi, outdoor seating, slices, happy hour beer specials, TVs, deals and coupons, open late, 2 South Lake Tahoe locations
the road
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Friendly and open late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got to Tahoe a lot later than we'd planned because of a traffic hold-up. The hotel suggested this place, just across from it. Even though it was near closing time, the servers were friendly and helpful and didn't rush us.

The pizza was good, too, though we found it on the salty side - maybe a bit too much feta or something. Anyway, we ate half and they were happy to pack the rest. We snacked off it for the next couple of days. We had wine and salad as well.

It did turn out pretty pricey (around $30 per head with tax and tip), but we were happy to find a pleasant place so late and considered it acceptable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    52
    36
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on July 4th. Its full service and we sat outside in the shade, our server was very efficient and polite, even though It got very busy while we were there. Chicken tenders to start followed by cheese pizza with mushroom and onion. The tenders were more like chicken breasts and were delicious and the pizza was fantastic, crispy without being dry or overcooked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Their crust is divine, pizzas creative, staff wonderful. Pizza is pizza but their crust is really good! Cute place, beer on tap, wine - salads were fabulous too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good pizza & great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed across the street at the horrible Forest Suites Resort, but loved this pizza joint. Watched the Blackhawks hockey playoff game there, sat at the bar. The service was constant but not intrusive. They were friendly enough even to let me switch my beer. The food was a little pricey but some of the better pizza you'll tend to have.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home-town atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went with a group and they served us in a timely manner. I had a chicken caesar salad but the others had pizza and it was all very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.