We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Touch of Scandinavia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Hwy 89 at Emerald Bay State Park, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530-541-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Touch of Scandinavia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

One of the few really fine examples of Scandinavian architecture in the United States can be found here at Vikingsholm on the western shore of Lake Tahoe. While in her sixties, Mrs. Lora Knight had her seven-bedroom, seven-bath mansion built in only five months. The setting reminded her of a Norwegian fjord, so she wanted her home to look appropriate for that setting, and it does. Made from local stone and timber, and with authentic reproductions throughout, Vikingsholm is truly a delight, and Knight's story is rather engrossing. Be warned that the fairly steep one-mile hike down from the parking area means a one-mile hike back up, and the tour itself is relatively short. But it's definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    93
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice hike not too difficult (took 1 1/2 hrs.), beautiful scenery, park people very helpful, clean area, take water. Stop by D L Bliss park afterwards - well worth your time and pass gets you into both.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We hiked to the bottom, and then rented kayaks. We kayaked in Emerald bay for several hours and had lunch on the island. We then headed to the beach by vikingsholm. I think that the hike deters people, so it isn't as crowed as other places. The mile hike back up was a little rough in the heat, but not bad.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool place to see in Emerald Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a child I always admired the castle a top the island in Emerald Bay, but I never knew it was part of Vikingsholm. The home itself is a must see just because it is so unique. We parked in a lot on 89 and hiked down about 1 mile to the beach where the home is. I recommend a picnic lunch because this is a great place to just sit and relax. There are kayaks for rent which you can rent to cruise around the bay on the beach as well. The home itself is modeled after several different Norwegian castles so it has a lot of character. It's nothing like the other Holmes from the guilder age; it is modest and intelligent. Tours are brief and affordable and 50% self guided. I recommend visiting this historic home to anyone looking to experience Emerald Bay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Interesting story behind the house, but tour is rather brief for the price. Some folks had a lot of trouble walking back up the one mile to the parking lot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vikingsholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.