We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Hwy 89 at Emerald Bay State Park, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530-541-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$80*
and up
Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice hike not too difficult (took 1 1/2 hrs.), beautiful scenery, park people very helpful, clean area, take water. Stop by D L Bliss park afterwards - well worth your time and pass gets you into both.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We hiked to the bottom, and then rented kayaks. We kayaked in Emerald bay for several hours and had lunch on the island. We then headed to the beach by vikingsholm. I think that the hike deters people, so it isn't as crowed as other places. The mile hike back up was a little rough in the heat, but not bad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfklotzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool place to see in Emerald Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a child I always admired the castle a top the island in Emerald Bay, but I never knew it was part of Vikingsholm. The home itself is a must see just because it is so unique. We parked in a lot on 89 and hiked down about 1 mile to the beach where the home is. I recommend a picnic lunch because this is a great place to just sit and relax. There are kayaks for rent which you can rent to cruise around the bay on the beach as well. The home itself is modeled after several different Norwegian castles so it has a lot of character. It's nothing like the other Holmes from the guilder age; it is modest and intelligent. Tours are brief and affordable and 50% self guided. I recommend visiting this historic home to anyone looking to experience Emerald Bay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaScott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Interesting story behind the house, but tour is rather brief for the price. Some folks had a lot of trouble walking back up the one mile to the parking lot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The walk to Vikingsholm is indeed one mile each way. And yes, the downhill comes first. But the house is well worth the effort of the return walk. The tour is excellent, and the house is unique. Be aware, however, that there is no free potable water at the house. Water can be bought at the visitors' Center, and there are bathrooms at the home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjohn435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing