We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Hwy 89 at Emerald Bay State Park, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530-541-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I viewed Vikingsholm both from a cruise on the lake and from the viewing area on the road above. Stunning setting and beautiful home that requires no extra effort to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    95
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The drive to the location of Vikingshold was beautiful with spectacular views of Lake Tahoe and Emerald Bay, when approached from South Lake Tahoe. The hike down the hill to see this gem was worth it but could be hard for some (because the only return is up this somewhat steep path with switchbacks). But this is a well preserved site and well worth the effort to make the climb. The extra cost to take the guided tour of the house was well worth it. The park ranger who conducted the tour was knowledgeable. There is a small beach and it is a great vantage point for seeing the paddle wheelers coming into the Bay to turn around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The architecture is interesting but you cannot go in unless you pay a tour fee. The hike down to the spot is very strenuous and harder going up. If you are not in shape, don't go!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful location right on Emerald Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wanted a fun, not-too-strenuous hike that would occupy me for a few hours prior to a wedding I was attending. A visit to Vikingsholm fit the bill. Be aware that parking is VERY limited. I got there around 10 and got one of the last spaces in the lot. It was marked "15-minutes only" but the ranger said I could park there as long as I paid the $10 fee. The hike down takes about 10-15 minutes and is very scenic. It connects to the Rubicon trail along the lake. You can bring your swimming gear and go for a dip if you want, but the water is quite cold (about 65 in August). I did not do the tour of the mansion, but I was content to explore the area on my own. Be forewarned that the hike back up to the parking lot is not nearly as easy, especially considering you are around 6000 ft. above sea level.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We hiked down from the parking lot early and had time to hike the trails before the ticket office opened and the first tour was given. The tour was short and only took about 30 minutes, but it was beautiful. It's wonderful that places like this are in public hands so we can all enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vikingsholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.