We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Room to Spare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 2 Free Drinks!
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Room to Spare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is host to small rooms, elevator and lobby. We stayed here to be in walking distance to Harvey's for the Bruno Mars concert.

The room they gave us was not made up by housekeeping so they switched us to the room next door. The second room had a broken hair dryer, no ironing board, no fan and one small bar of soap.

Most of the staff were pleasant and welcoming...except for Benjamin. This young man should not be in the customer service industry. For example: I inquired whether he knew the name of the nail salon across the street from the hotel. He paused, smiled and said that he hadn't had is nails done lately, but that he does know the name of his barber.

Meanwhile his coworker looked up the shop's name on the internet in the same time it took for Mr. passive aggressive to finish his snotty remark.

The best thing about this hotel is the pool.

Green Features: They claim to be eco friendly, but the attempt was superficial.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    204
    86
    30
    22
See reviews for
109
328
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Green, eco-friendly hotel. Somewhat unique. See their site for broader description. Nice, heated pool, indoor hot tub and sauna. Room pleasant. Staff friendly. No microwave (I like a little popcorn now and then). Smallest hotel refrigerator I have ever seen. All-in-all, close to town and a decent place. This is definitely on my places to look for a room in SLT.

Room Tip: Get a room back toward the pool area.
See more room tips
Green Features: These folks are serious about having a green hotel. Very pleasant place with that regard.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We wanted something close to Harvey's Amphitheater without have to pay Harvey/Harrahs hotel prices. This place is great! Great rustic feel,quiet, and just a short walk to Harvey's. Oh, and the bed is fantastic! We didn't want to get up! The staff were fantastic and made some great recommendations on where to get excellent food! We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: No smoking hotel. Renovated recently notably using re-purposed decor which I LOVE.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time staying here. Were here for just a night to see Lady Gaga at Harvey's nearby. The proximity was great and overall the hotel had a good vibe and our room was spacious and came with a fridge. However, the details could be tightened up a bit. The towels were just a bit shabby and the bed skirts a bit dirty/stained. We also happened to be in Tahoe on a day/night when it was very warm and the room did not have a/c. However, they do provide a stand-up oscillating fan. This posed a problem for us getting ready as the three of us were sweating profusely and all trying to get ready in front of the fan. We kept the window open at night and tried to situate the fan between the two beds to share the air, but there is no question it was very warm in the room. Could not sleep under any sort of cover. It was a relief to be outside as it was slightly cooler than the room. There are a lot of nearby hotel options, so next time I am in South Lake I would probably try another establishment.

Green Features: Only LEED certified hotel in Tahoe, which is impressive. Biodegradable toiletries and energy star appliances.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked this hotel because our regular was not available at and by the reviews and pictures it looked like we would have a great stay. Well we were wrong!! Upon check in we were greeted nicely I was told 2 of my rooms had ac and it turns out only 1 of the 3 did.. I booked 3 delux queens and was only given 2 delux queens and 1 regualr double and was never told my rooms were changed. we went to check out the hot tub and it was FILTHY we asked if I would be cleaned later that day and I was told it would be, we came back a few hours later it was still nasty i asked if it had been cleaned and was told someone was "working on it" we came back the next day still filthy we asked the front desk and she didnt really seem to care. The rooms are very clean but the rest of the hotel is dirty and runn down the staff doesnt really seem to care much about customer satisfaction or the hotels cleanliness. This is truely a disappointment I thought I would have a funn relaxing carefree vacation with my family at a hotel that was clean but this is not the case. Needless to say I will not be staying here again!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. It does have character but there were just a few things that would have made it better. It was not the cleanest. They make you sign a form that says you won't use their wash cloths for washing off your make up (they give you wipes), yet after walking around our room barefoot for just an hour, my feet were black and I wiped them with the rag, turning it black! I had to go explain this to them so we could get them to clean it better.
The bed was so soft that my husband slept on the floor every night (although I enjoyed the bed). It did have a hot shower and cool a/c. It was pretty warm for Tahoe the week we were there so we were glad we asked for a room with a/c. Most of the staff were great.

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a/c if in July or Aug
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Second stay here. Obviously the first stay was good enough to get me to go back... this time, they were really struggling. We stayed for five nights and never had a working TV. The front desk staff blamed it on a satellite outage but was standoffish and refused to actually check the TV... of course the TV was working in their bar during this conversation so it likely wasn't a satellite outage and I'm sure it wasn't out for 5+ days. The hot tub was out of service for our entire stay. Housecleaning was inconsistent and often after 3pm when we had returned to the room to change for dinner or other events, so we didn't get our room cleaned. Outside doors were left wide open all night, which in bear country with a room at the end of the hall was a little concerning. Beds are comfortable and rooms are mostly clean. I like the idea and the look, but would need better operation to go back. Location is good - walking distance to Harrahs/Stateline and Marriott/South Lake Tahoe attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#10 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.