We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty!!! Big Disappointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty!!! Big Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked this hotel because our regular was not available at and by the reviews and pictures it looked like we would have a great stay. Well we were wrong!! Upon check in we were greeted nicely I was told 2 of my rooms had ac and it turns out only 1 of the 3 did.. I booked 3 delux queens and was only given 2 delux queens and 1 regualr double and was never told my rooms were changed. we went to check out the hot tub and it was FILTHY we asked if I would be cleaned later that day and I was told it would be, we came back a few hours later it was still nasty i asked if it had been cleaned and was told someone was "working on it" we came back the next day still filthy we asked the front desk and she didnt really seem to care. The rooms are very clean but the rest of the hotel is dirty and runn down the staff doesnt really seem to care much about customer satisfaction or the hotels cleanliness. This is truely a disappointment I thought I would have a funn relaxing carefree vacation with my family at a hotel that was clean but this is not the case. Needless to say I will not be staying here again!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    164
    71
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
273
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. It does have character but there were just a few things that would have made it better. It was not the cleanest. They make you sign a form that says you won't use their wash cloths for washing off your make up (they give you wipes), yet after walking around our room barefoot for just an hour, my feet were black and I wiped them with the rag, turning it black! I had to go explain this to them so we could get them to clean it better.
The bed was so soft that my husband slept on the floor every night (although I enjoyed the bed). It did have a hot shower and cool a/c. It was pretty warm for Tahoe the week we were there so we were glad we asked for a room with a/c. Most of the staff were great.

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a/c if in July or Aug
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Second stay here. Obviously the first stay was good enough to get me to go back... this time, they were really struggling. We stayed for five nights and never had a working TV. The front desk staff blamed it on a satellite outage but was standoffish and refused to actually check the TV... of course the TV was working in their bar during this conversation so it likely wasn't a satellite outage and I'm sure it wasn't out for 5+ days. The hot tub was out of service for our entire stay. Housecleaning was inconsistent and often after 3pm when we had returned to the room to change for dinner or other events, so we didn't get our room cleaned. Outside doors were left wide open all night, which in bear country with a room at the end of the hall was a little concerning. Beds are comfortable and rooms are mostly clean. I like the idea and the look, but would need better operation to go back. Location is good - walking distance to Harrahs/Stateline and Marriott/South Lake Tahoe attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The room was clean and the hotel is in a good area to walk to the lake, get to the gondola, etc however, we are use to ac and they don't have any! We slept with the windows open and they have a standing fan in the room that can oscillate. Overall nice room and area but we NEED AC so won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall the owner did a good job of modernizing an older property. The decor is contemporary hip-modern. The room was comfy, clean & quiet. We liked the thoughtful additions of clothes hooks and a multi-outlet extension cord. Our room lacked A/C, but proper use of the blinds and the supplied fan kept us comfortable on a 83-degree day. The soap, shampoo, conditioner & lotion were first-rate. To improve the experience, management could (a) operate the hot-tub at 100+ degrees (it was about 90-degrees), (b) our room that slept four only had one hand-towel & one wash-cloth. Location was excellent - an easy walk to the mountain lifts and to the large casino hotels.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms face west & get evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived, there was a power outage in the entire area. We got checked in with a flashlight and thankfully had flashlights of our own, as no one offered any help in finding our room in the dark. The room was somewhat sparse, but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The sink area was very small and a bit hard for two people to get ready. The location was great--walking distance to area restaurants,casinos and beach. Staff was nice but seemed a bit overworked--the bartender was running back to check people in and answer the phone. Seemed like they were trying to make it an intimate boutique hotel but just didn't quite get there. Hot tub/sauna not working; wifi rarely worked; cable was out all evening one night. Nothing terrible, but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just back from a fantastic weekend and part of it was spent at 968 Park Hotel. My friend got married nearby atop Heavenly and she suggested her guests stay here at a discounted wedding rate they'd arranged, for good reason. The rooms are very comfy and spacious (and clean), the beds are very comfortable (high-quality mattresses), and they have fun things down at the bar in the eves if that's your thing (live music, happy hour, etc.). Note: the hotel itself is not fancy, more restored and cozy (it's a motel-style layout with updated interior).

It's located in a very convenient spot so you can walk to restaurants and even the casinos.

Warning for those who require air conditioning: only certain rooms have air con so definitely make your case when you call to reserve for summer! The rooms can get stuffy if you don't have it, but thank goodness they provide big fans. The suites (definitely the 08s) do NOT have air conditioning; it's what I stayed in.

Last but not least, the service (all employees) are very nice and willing to help you with whatever you need.

Room Tip: If you require air conditioning - ask ask ask upon booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.