We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay with Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Drinks!
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Stay with Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and found it have everything I needed, in a nice relaxed environment with helpful staff member.

The room was was nice, with interesting wooden furnishings and an awesome comfy bed. No air con in our standard room, which I suppose you'd really expect as a standard these days (it comes as a standard in the majority of places I stop at, even in cooler climates). I note air con is available in the more expensive rooms, but this isn't a feature you should really expect to pay more for in 2014.

The atmosphere in the bar area is great and I spent a few nights here chatting with friends and the staff. Great wine and beers available and the staff are knowlegeable on the products. Wine tasting on Fridays with live music was a nice touch. Benjamin, who works front of house was very charming and helpful, he's going places. Faith was great to chat with in the bar area in the evening and had a wicked sense of humour as did Jennifer who was friendly and approachable. I dont recall the name of one night shift worker, a chap with dark hair, but he was just as approachable.

I had a massage during my stay from the lovely Lousia and it was one of the best massages I ever had. We also made use of the sauna and spa available which was great to relax.

The have an outside pool are with loungers and beds which was fine to bathe in and relaxing. i never actually went for a dip in the pool. with it being outside it does tend to fill up with leaves and debris from nature's elements and didnt look all that inviting.

Overall I would reccommend and would deffinetly stay here again when I return to Tahoe.

Room Tip: If you want air-con for go for the deluxe.
See more room tips
Green Features: very refreshing to stay somewhere with such eco friendly policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    167
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
279
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am only halfway through my stay here and already love the place. I came here because I wanted an affordable nice place for my honeymoon and this place looked great. And it definitely meets my expectations. I LOVE the salvage wood decor look. The staff has been really friendly and helpful. And the pool area is so cute and comfortable. I love lounging on the outdoor beds by the pool to wind down from a day of adventures. And they have happy hour drink specials you can take to the pool. Oh, and the best coffee we have had since we flew out of Stumptown. What else would you need?

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights here and had a great time. The Hotel is near the shoreline and is very good located near the state border to Nevada (for all gambling fans) and to shops and stores. Due to the location one block away from the through traffic, the hotel is quite.

The outdoor pool is nice and the beds are comfortable. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (3rd floor) towards the Lake. Don't expect Lake-View due to high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

From the very reasonable cost, via "Hotel Tonight," to the friendly staff greeting, amazing bed and linens, and super eco-friendly features, this hotel is a must for anyone staying in South Lake Tahoe. Wish we could have stayed more than one night! Natalie, the front desk person who greeted us, was very helpful in giving us a restaurant recommendation and overall assistance. Will definitely be back!

Green Features: Heavenly grooming amenities; bed and lines some of the best that we've ever experienced. Will definitely try the sauna and spa on next visit!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were passing through and were happy to find an affordable eco-friendly hotel for our night in South Lake Tahoe. We found the accommodations nice and comfortable. We didn't really take advantage of any amenities, so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Overall the visit was good for the money especially when bought on a discount. The staff was friendly. The bar tender was fun to talk with. The rooms were ok. Ours had a funny smell and had to air it out. We were not sure if it was because of recycled materials used on the hotel or a prior guest. After the first night it was fine. The location is very good and close to the casinos, shopping, lake, bike trails and all the summer fun things in Tahoe.

Green Features: I think it was too environmentally friendly meaning the materials could have been better and they gave off some funky old smells
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

So I LOVED this hotel ! But upon our arrival there was a new staff member who complained to us about how she wasn't trained properly (so unprofessional ) and she didn't know anything about my TravelZoo deal I got and what it came with. She and all the staff was really nice but there also isn't enough staff at one time. I know it's a small hotel but only 1 person to cover the front desk and the coffee/bar takes up a lot of time waiting around . Other than that I really loved it! There was even a free wine tasting and live music our last night there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.