We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco- Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eco- Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here because I saw a deal ,not for our dates. The rate wasn't bad so I booked. The hotel is in a very nice location and we could walk everywhere. I was a little disappointed that they do not give a pass to the beach that the low cost hotel did. The room was okay nothing that special, but the coffee in the room was really nice. You could not hear the room next door and the pool was nice. There is a little bar downstairs but no continental breakfast either,the low cost hotel had that also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the back parking lot or you will see a building next door and the cars. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review and your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    156
    68
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
255
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall the hotel was okay. We got a deal using TravelZoo so the price was right and we got 2 drinks in the bar. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beer and Coffee were both very good.
Cons-The hot tub was very foamy, when we turned the jets on it foamed enough that it went over the edge on one side. And, the shower was so cold. I thought maybe it just took a bit to warm up. My second shower did get moderately warm but then I was shot with cold and then hot water.
I would probably stay again if we got a deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear about the foaming hot tub. When we have a guest with heavy lotion or soapy bathing trunks it can get foamy quite quickly. We have changed our chemical testing protocol from once a day to twice to catch these situation should they occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Second time stay here. It was very nice with great staff. I thought it was a little pricy being between seasons and I think there might be better value in a comparable room nearby for less. I guess one is paying now for the trendiness of the place. This was with a returning guest discount. Don't think I would return for a 3rd visit. Near lots of restaurants and shopping all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Park as traffic noise picks up very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your high rating! We sure hope that you get a lot more than just trendiness! We've set up our rooms with the most comfortable beds around, hand made furniture, flat screen TV's, organic bath amenities, Keurig Coffee machines plus a gourmet coffee bar (that serves beer and wine too!) Plus we have Tahoe's only poolside cabanas, free live music every Saturday and free wine tastings on Fridays.

We do charge more than many of the older hotels in Tahoe but we make sure you get a lot more too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Probably the "greenest" hotel around- great job of recycling in building. Staff was friendly, helpful with directions. Room is basic but comfortable- radiant heating very quiet and effective. Tight parking, but that's the price for the great location. Two free tokens for bar drinks a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Hope you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great find for the price. Hotel was renovated in a rustic environmentally friendly style. Best of all is proximity to beach and casinos. Past reviews mention lack of air conditioning but in the fall with the windows open, it was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad you like our hotel and our style! Our rooms our comfortable without A/C most of the year but now we have many rooms that do have brand new A/C!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Thanks to Groupon we found this gem of an hotel in Heavenly Village, South Lake Tahoe...incredibly charming people work throughout the hotel: Christina and Jacob and Natasha and Jesse, Brittany and Alfred and Rich and Justin fantastic job! Love the re-cycled wood and metal throughout the building. Easy walk to Lake,village cable car, and everyone at 968 will give great 'local knowledge' advice.

Room Tip: top floor, front south corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so lucky to have some of Tahoe's best people working for us! I'm glad they left you raving and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 968 Park and were greeted by the amazing Christina! She is a diamond! Nothing was too much trouble, in fact beyond that all the members of staff we encountered were more than helpful and deserve mentioning. Jacob at front desk was really friendly, Natasha behind the bar terrific. Rich on maintenance gave us great advice on places to visit. A special mention to Justin also on maintenance, who has served for his country and now helps to keep 968 looking tip top! Jesse, Brittany and Alfred were also very friendly and helpful.

Having said all this there are a few issues as mentioned by other reviewers, spotty wifi, no proper AC or fridge in some rooms but next to the staff that work there were minor issues and they did everything in their power to quickly address any concerns.

In short if you are planning a trip to South Lakr Tahoe you have to check out this hotel! We extended our reservation twice because we were made to feel so welcome!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad you loved our staff! Just a note on some of things you mentioned. We have brand new AC in our deluxe rooms as well as fridges. Plus out WiFi has been overhauled! Always improving and adding more fun and practical features!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.