We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning staff and hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning staff and hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 968 Park and were greeted by the amazing Christina! She is a diamond! Nothing was too much trouble, in fact beyond that all the members of staff we encountered were more than helpful and deserve mentioning. Jacob at front desk was really friendly, Natasha behind the bar terrific. Rich on maintenance gave us great advice on places to visit. A special mention to Justin also on maintenance, who has served for his country and now helps to keep 968 looking tip top! Jesse, Brittany and Alfred were also very friendly and helpful.

Having said all this there are a few issues as mentioned by other reviewers, spotty wifi, no proper AC or fridge in some rooms but next to the staff that work there were minor issues and they did everything in their power to quickly address any concerns.

In short if you are planning a trip to South Lakr Tahoe you have to check out this hotel! We extended our reservation twice because we were made to feel so welcome!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad you loved our staff! Just a note on some of things you mentioned. We have brand new AC in our deluxe rooms as well as fridges. Plus out WiFi has been overhauled! Always improving and adding more fun and practical features!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    153
    65
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
249
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at 968 Park Hotel recently. Good service, but the rooms are lacking.

Cons
- No A/C in the rooms (which was a first in Tahoe -- it gets hot in the summer). This was a big con.
- Weird note about not using white towels provided in the bathroom for removing makeup. I guess that makes sense - make up can stain. They provided disposible makeup cloths to use instead, but I thought the note was weird and wondered why they didn't just provide darker towels to use for make up (like Basecamp).
- Sink and mirror are really short. Not sure if we were in a unique room (I promise we're not giants! 5'8 & 6'), but for some reason the sink was really low!

Pros
- Good service
- Great location
- Cute bar area with wine tastings and live music in the hotel lobby

They have a good opportunity to reach clientele who don't want to pay the ridiculously expensive rates of Basecamp. Hoping they improve their accommodations soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Brand new A/C is installed with more units slated for the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hot tub was the most disgusting thing I've ever stepped foot into. It was slimy and felt like it hadn't been cleaned in years. I immediately took a shower to wash the scum off of me and was paranoid for a few days after of developing a rash or infection. Overall, our sleeping quarters were okay. The bed was comfortable, which was nice; however, I think the word "green" and "LEED Certified" are a poor excuse to use for cheap products and quality of the room. It's clearly an old hotel and the idea of "reclaimed" materials is a neat concept, but could've been executed better. Additionally, tile floor in hotel rooms is neither attractive nor pleasant to walk on or look at. Finally, the walls are paper thin, which can make for a poor night's sleep, especially as the drunks roll home from the casinos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to 968 a little before check in and were told we we had to be in a "specific room" and it wasn't ready. We knew we got there early so that wasn't a big deal. What we didn't know is that this specific room had to be one of the worst in house. It's still warm in September and they put us in a room with no a/c!! Told us that we just needed to open the window and they didn't offer a fan or anything. When opening the window we realized we were facing the Main Street and we could hear all the noisy cars passing by. To make matters worse the smoke from the rim fire had put a bad air quality warning out for Tahoe and we had to sleep with the window open. Room smelled like smoke and I woke up with a stuffed nose and sore throat. It's 2013 not 1913, how is there no a/c? Why would the rooms facing the main street not have a/c? Worst night of sleep I have ever had in Tahoe. Don't take a chance at getting this "specific room". Definetly not worth the money you spend on this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I'm sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. We have installed AC in our deluxe rooms. So by specific room, it sounds like you booked a standard room to save some money. Our deluxe rooms have the AC, a fridge, bigger beds and more square footage. It's just $20 more and well worth if you are not on a tight budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great concept for an Eco hotel executed beautifully AND in tune with the Tahoe vibe. Walking distance from beach and casinos. And the beds! Holy mother of monkey milk. Best beds ever and that included all the fancy places in NY Vegas and SF. So freaking comfy. But the reason we will come back is Cristina. She was amazing and did it all. Barista, front desk, tour guide, etc. She made us feel so welcome. What a sweet heart!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked a King deluxe room directly through the hotel for 2 nights in early August. After checking in, I found there was no refrigerator. One of the reasons I booked a King deluxe room was the expectation of a refrigerator as it was stated on the hotel website as an amenity for that particular room type. The desk clerk said he would try to find one for us. He never got back to us about it until the next day when we had to follow up. He said there were none available. Therefore, we were without a refrigerator for the two days of our stay.

The next day after returning late in the afternoon from a long hike, we found that the room had not been serviced. I informed the desk clerk and requested a towel. He gave me a towel but did not offer to have the room made up for us or apologize for the oversight.

In addition, the water was not hot either day. It was warm, but not to the degree expected.

When I complained to the desk clerk, he was indifferent and said there was nothing he could do. I complained again upon check out to a different clerk, but to no avail. Ten days ago I emailed the general manager. He has yet to respond.

I have never written a negative review for an establishment. But when customer service is so lacking and the general manager does not even take the time to reply there's not much else to do. This could easily have been addressed by both staff or mgmt but neither were interested in mitigating this bad experience.

Stay away from this hotel. There are plenty other hotels in the area that will welcome you to South Lake Tahoe and provide the accommodations and service that you pay for.

DM

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love Lake Tahoe...picked 968 for it's uniqueness and trying to get a true Tahoe vibe...with the exception of one person, I think her name was Ramona???, the staff was AWESOME...very friendly, Kelsey ( I hope I got her name right) - bartender, was the best...she gave us a list of hot spots that were all dead on, she makes a mean latte and makes you feel at home...we spent a week there prior to the A/C install, our room was brutally hot...we were told to leave the door open and the small window in our room, we really weren't looking for those kind of accomodations...REALLY, leave our door open, if we wanted to go camping, we would have...I think the A/C issue is now resolved...If the rooms have A/C, I would stay there again...the staff makes the difference...

Room Tip: Make sure they have A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.