We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“968 is the place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Cloverdale,California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“968 is the place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just spent the last 3 night here and we loved it, the room are very comfortable, the hotel staff is very helpful, the maid services is fantasic. Cannot go wrong staying here we have stayed at many place on the south shore, this is our new favorite. We will defiantely return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You guys rock! See ya again soon. We promise to have new fun stuff every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    160
    68
    27
    21
See reviews for
83
262
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a very over priced MOTEL.. the room had barn wood on the walls as a coverup of
an old motel to look hip.
very very basic
the sauna , etc was out of commission.. zero amenities and it was very overpriced.
I was ok spending the money for a key holiday window .. but the hotel photos and
details were inaccurate..

Room Tip: the room we had was on park and we had to have the window open. VERY noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hey now! Well I agree we are not a resort and spa, that's why we are called 968 Park Hotel! ;-)

But would love to hear what amenities you would like to have seen that you didn't. Here's a list of what we do have:

Property Amenities


Indoor Hot Tub
Sauna
Outdoor Heated Pools with Cabanas
Bar with weekly free wine tasting and live music
Zen Garden
Entertainment Room
Free Covered Parking
Free Outdoor Parking
Free WiFi
Business Center

Room Amenities

Hand Crafted Wood Furniture
42” HD Televisions
Vessel Sinks
Bathtub or shower
Premium TV channels
Premium bedding
Hypo-allergenic bedding
Hair dryer
In-room massage available
Electronic/magnetic keys
Iron/ironing board
Keurig Coffee Makers
Sterling Sleep System Mattress
Organic soaps and amenities
AC in select rooms

I'd welcome an email at info@968parkhotel.com with your suggestions.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Looked so great in the pictures and description. Thought it would be hip and trendy. OMG. The room was tiny and looked out onto a parking area, as do all the rooms. NO AIR CONDITIONING. It was hot as hell up there and the room was stuffy and hot, as well as very dated. The people were very nice and friendly but I left and they did give me back my money.

Room Tip: there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Our AC is being installed right now!

Was wondering though why you thought we are dated? The hotel is only 5 years old and everything is brand new, we have mp3 compatible radios, flat screen TVs, lighting fast WIFI, cabanas at the pool, brand new bar plus we are constantly updating. Please feel free to email me your thoughts at info@968parkhotel.com

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been watching this hotel on several travel sites and it looked interesting. I hate cookie cutter anything and was anxious to see what it was like.

The good: The decor both in the lobby and room was just as pictured, kind of funky, with distressed wood and interesting fixtures. The linens were so soft and the bed was super comfy. The front desk staff was pretty hip, but they were friendly and helpful. The lobby had an interesting vibe. Friday night wine tasting was great. The covered parking WAS very tight, but given the heat, it was good to have the shade. The location is great, a block to Heavenly Village and the gondola (which was also great!) Could also walk to casinos a few blocks away if that's your thing.

The not so great: I understand the eco theme. However, the walkway leading from the parking to the lobby, in broad daylight, was dark and the floor is uneven. Could really be a problem for some people. The hallways were dark! Felt depressing. Better lighting is needed in both areas. There is no A/C. I know Tahoe doesn't usually get so hot, but it was 90 when we were there. Even with the fan, we were hot in the room. There is no view from any of the rooms, it is parking lot view no matter where you are.


We really liked it a lot, overall, the positives far outweighed the negatives. Would definitely return.

Green Features: With 968 Park, it's not a gimmick, they seem genuinely concerned with their impact on the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review! The AC is being installed. Yup those halls are too dark, with you all the way. We replaced all of the fixtures with LEDs and though they use way less electricity, its a bit drab. We are looking into new alternatives to brighten up without having to go back to the conventional bulbs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The good (the not so good in the second part of the review):
The 968 is a green hotel: they recycle all the waste, use bio-degradable supplies, etc. The hotel itself is built out of recycled materials.
It is a very elegantly designed hotel with a 'distressed' look which is nevertheless luxurious. The interior design, the appliances (coffee maker, fridge, etc.) are top notch. LED lights, cotton sheets.
It is clean like a whistle and there is a crew of cleaners in place that does not skimp on work.
The pool is a clean, salt water heated pool. The pool area is in partial shade from the pine trees, so it's easy to find your level of comfort. The pool is, however, not very large (since it's heated).
The massage is good to very good. We tried deep tissue and it was the real thing.
The rooms have radiant heating, the showers are excellent, the carpets are clean.
The beds are all mite-proof, allergy-proof, etc. and very clean.

The not so good:

In the end, it's a bit gloomy. The decor, though tasteful and a far cry from the kitschy setup of chain hotels, is, after a few days, rather gloomy and some people may find it oppressive. Combined with the fact that the rooms have large windows but are not very bright, the hotel is not an uplifting environment.

The towels are very clean, smell good and feel good on the skin as they are absorbent and 100% cotton. But they look like they've been driven over by cars! They were white and now they are grey. After one use, it's a bit hard to reuse them. They just look so dirty.

The sheets are white but not as white as snow. Perhaps the hotel should review their choice of detergents.

The appliances should be checked more often. In one of our rooms, a misguided traveller had put coffee in the water container of the coffee maker. Only one of our two rooms had a fridge.

The bar does not match the progressive image of the hotel. No lemonade, fresh juice or healthy drinks. The only soft drinks are Canada Dry root beer, San Pellegrino water and (diet) coke.

Tip:

I suggest you call ahead and reserve a room that has what you expect to be needing. Some rooms are larger, some have fridges, some haven't, etc. The reception is very busy, but hard working. We found the reservation process to be unbiased: we purchased the room through a LivingSocial deal but we were given good rooms (not next to the ice maker) and we were well helped by the receptionists.

Room Tip: I suggest you call ahead and reserve a room that has what you expect to be needing. Some rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can't beat the location of this renovated hotel. The owners have gone to great lengths to be "green", including reusing old barn wood for decor. The staff were wonderful - very friendly and accommodating, but they shouldn't have had to be accommodating. Our room was missing the refrigerator! One arrived within the hour, but where the heck did it go in the first place?? We didn't have a hiar dryer, which I discovered when I had a towel around my wet hair. Again, resolved quickly, but the write-up said there was a refrigerator and hair dryer IN the room, not a phone call away. The first room our friends were given wasn't made up. The next room didn't have working lights, The third room had lights but was missing towels. Our reservation included a "free drink", which wasn't free at all. The drink tokens for the wine/beer only bar were $7 each and wine was $10 - $16 per glass. Even though we were paying the difference, we could only have the wine that was open so if what you like wasn't open - tough luck. They clearly want you to drink beer or coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on Park are noisy so try to get on the other side. The parking is HORRIBLE - very tiny spaces...
See more room tips
Green Features: EXCELLENT!!! extremely impressed with everything they have done to be "green" and we could have stolen the bed it was so comfortable. Their re-use of building materials means really unique decor.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at 968 Park Hotel for 2 nights. Cute place all renavated by using all (mostly) recycled woods & metals, but updated bathrooms flat screen tvs, etc. The staff is very friendly, location is great for walking to Heavenly Valley Village, free parking. We would recommend this hotel & would stay again.

Room Tip: I think most rooms would be fine as the Hotel sit back from Lincoln Hwy by a block. I found it very...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. They recycle, re-use material, use earth friendly products.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.