We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“difficult to rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“difficult to rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The good (the not so good in the second part of the review):
The 968 is a green hotel: they recycle all the waste, use bio-degradable supplies, etc. The hotel itself is built out of recycled materials.
It is a very elegantly designed hotel with a 'distressed' look which is nevertheless luxurious. The interior design, the appliances (coffee maker, fridge, etc.) are top notch. LED lights, cotton sheets.
It is clean like a whistle and there is a crew of cleaners in place that does not skimp on work.
The pool is a clean, salt water heated pool. The pool area is in partial shade from the pine trees, so it's easy to find your level of comfort. The pool is, however, not very large (since it's heated).
The massage is good to very good. We tried deep tissue and it was the real thing.
The rooms have radiant heating, the showers are excellent, the carpets are clean.
The beds are all mite-proof, allergy-proof, etc. and very clean.

The not so good:

In the end, it's a bit gloomy. The decor, though tasteful and a far cry from the kitschy setup of chain hotels, is, after a few days, rather gloomy and some people may find it oppressive. Combined with the fact that the rooms have large windows but are not very bright, the hotel is not an uplifting environment.

The towels are very clean, smell good and feel good on the skin as they are absorbent and 100% cotton. But they look like they've been driven over by cars! They were white and now they are grey. After one use, it's a bit hard to reuse them. They just look so dirty.

The sheets are white but not as white as snow. Perhaps the hotel should review their choice of detergents.

The appliances should be checked more often. In one of our rooms, a misguided traveller had put coffee in the water container of the coffee maker. Only one of our two rooms had a fridge.

The bar does not match the progressive image of the hotel. No lemonade, fresh juice or healthy drinks. The only soft drinks are Canada Dry root beer, San Pellegrino water and (diet) coke.

Tip:

I suggest you call ahead and reserve a room that has what you expect to be needing. Some rooms are larger, some have fridges, some haven't, etc. The reception is very busy, but hard working. We found the reservation process to be unbiased: we purchased the room through a LivingSocial deal but we were given good rooms (not next to the ice maker) and we were well helped by the receptionists.

Room Tip: I suggest you call ahead and reserve a room that has what you expect to be needing. Some rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    152
    65
    25
    21
See reviews for
82
248
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can't beat the location of this renovated hotel. The owners have gone to great lengths to be "green", including reusing old barn wood for decor. The staff were wonderful - very friendly and accommodating, but they shouldn't have had to be accommodating. Our room was missing the refrigerator! One arrived within the hour, but where the heck did it go in the first place?? We didn't have a hiar dryer, which I discovered when I had a towel around my wet hair. Again, resolved quickly, but the write-up said there was a refrigerator and hair dryer IN the room, not a phone call away. The first room our friends were given wasn't made up. The next room didn't have working lights, The third room had lights but was missing towels. Our reservation included a "free drink", which wasn't free at all. The drink tokens for the wine/beer only bar were $7 each and wine was $10 - $16 per glass. Even though we were paying the difference, we could only have the wine that was open so if what you like wasn't open - tough luck. They clearly want you to drink beer or coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on Park are noisy so try to get on the other side. The parking is HORRIBLE - very tiny spaces...
See more room tips
Green Features: EXCELLENT!!! extremely impressed with everything they have done to be "green" and we could have stolen the bed it was so comfortable. Their re-use of building materials means really unique decor.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at 968 Park Hotel for 2 nights. Cute place all renavated by using all (mostly) recycled woods & metals, but updated bathrooms flat screen tvs, etc. The staff is very friendly, location is great for walking to Heavenly Valley Village, free parking. We would recommend this hotel & would stay again.

Room Tip: I think most rooms would be fine as the Hotel sit back from Lincoln Hwy by a block. I found it very...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. They recycle, re-use material, use earth friendly products.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean room, friendly service. Got a deal on travelzoo and the location and hotel is great. Only downside is the rooms can get noisy before 11pm. The two queen room is nice.

Will stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a bit over a week ago, my fiancé and I were planning on staying at 968 Park for the better part of a week, but we left to take another accommodation after one night, for the following reasons:

- The wireless connection didn't work. This had been a significant problem the first time I had stayed with you last September, and I was told it was getting fixed at that time. It was apparently never really fixed or was fixed inadequately. No matter what we tried over the course of a day, we could not check email or use the internet in our room.

- The room refrigerator didn't work. We thought perhaps it was not working because it was unplugged, so we put food in it... but several hours later, it was still not working at all.

- No hot water, luke warm only. Finally, we called the desk and they ran hot water in downstairs rooms to get it flowing to us on the third floor -- it was hot only AFTER we had finished taking showers.

- Inadequate lighting in the room. In the early morning, neither of us could read the instructions on the coffee brewer without lifting and carrying it elsewhere in the room.


Overall, it was clear to me that the owner or management at 968 Park was not providing the resources needed to maintain the place as a comfortable, inviting destination that could be deemed well worth the price. I do not plan on returning there, nor recommending it to others, until I have learned that the situation has changed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a small hotel with charming interiors. It is close to major attractions and roads in Tahoe. It seems attention was paid to all details, including the elevators' design. There is a rustic feel to the decor. It looks very elegant, yet casual. Our room was spacious, clean, and had plenty of natural light. Nights were very quiet and we slept very comfortably. Other than WiFi reception being weak in the room, everything else was very pleasing. Parking is a little tight, so be aware if you are driving a midsize car it may be challenging. However, that's only if you are using the covered lot. We liked the lobby atmosphere and music played. Staff welcomed us with a smile every morning and they were quick to answer our questions.

Green Features: We were very impressed by the large amount of recycled material used throughout the hotel. It is very encouraging to know this hotel works hard to maintain practices that are friendly to the environment, including protecting Lake Tahoe from pollution.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this fun little hotel. Convenient location, friendly staff, fun decor. Rustic and modern. I didn't get a chance to check out the pool/ spa but I would stay here again for sure. Rooms are small but well done.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.