We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with fantastic people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel with fantastic people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

5 of us stayed at 968 for two weeks recently and had an epic time. The bar and the hotel staff really make the hotel a great place to stay. Everyone really wants to help you have a good time. Richard, who looks after the maintenance of the hotel is a top bloke, helped me out many times. Rowena owns the bar and the offers each night make it a great place to party. Kelsey is also really lovely. Ashley,jake and Christina were also fantastic.. Too many great people to mention all of them.

The rooms are large, clean and a little out there due to the use of recycled materials. Thank you so much to the housekeeping team. You kept our rooms smelling so nice despite the sweaty ski socks and boots.

Thank you to you all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon L, Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for such a stellar review! Every single one of the staff members at the 968 are here because they want to make sure your stay in Tahoe is outstanding. Its great to get your feedback. I look forward to letting my employees know that they are appreciated and are doing such a great job. Come back and hang out with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    157
    68
    27
    21
See reviews for
82
256
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 968 park hotel and for the value I would say its one of south lakes hidden secrets. The staff has been the best and very nice people to talk to. The rooms are very clean and Eco friendly with a very comfy bed to pass out on after a long day of boarding. The drinks are fairly priced with daily drink specials and happy hour from 4-6. If your looking for a great place to stay you found it right hear.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I wish I could give 3.5 stars, because I think this place is slightly above average in that the bed was comfortable and linens actually clean, but I would NOT call it "very good".

Great location for Heavenly and our corner room felt relatively private, but not enough staff, and attention to detail could be better. The best part was the hot tub which is open until 11pm, and when we got in just after snowboarding, around 4-4:30, it was usually empty.

Staff are friendly but there only ever seemed to be one person on duty, and that person was never behind the "bar". The ongoing joke was the "light breakfast." Literally just coffee, tea, and a fruity-cake slice every day. Really? Not even cereal, or fruit? How hard would it be to put some yogurt out? Or toast? Given that most people are likely to be skiing or snowboarding all day, I'm not sure how much sustenance a TEENY-tiny piece of sugary cake is!

Our room had no kettle, no fridge, and no valuables safe in the room, which would be really ideal if you're on the slopes all day. I took to locking my valuables in my massive suitcase with the idea that someone walking off with my hideous duffel would look fairly conspicuous. Wifi is TERRIBLE - don't believe them when they say, "It *might* not work well in your room, but it works down here in the lobby". It fluctuates greatly even just sitting in one position. Can rarely get a signal even in the lobby, and very little cell phone reception, so 3G isn't going to get you far either.

They have a stove, microwave and oven in the "bar" area but no food. I overheard another guest complain that the girl at reception said the kitchen was "just for show."

Free drink token on arrival which seemed nice, but they had only 3 beers to choose from, and the beer they gave us wasn't even a pint. It was basically half a glass - in a plastic cup. Young staff who, as I say, are friendly but seem a bit careless and clearly just there to take advantage of the location themselves.

Overall, overpriced and lacking in conventional service one should be able to expect at these prices. I get that they're going for boutique, but a safe, a kettle, and some fruit or cereal in the morning wouldn't go amiss. Loud showers/floors/doors, but I think we lucked out because the room next to us seemed to be empty for most of the time - it was noise from above that we got.

Lastly, and possibly worst, they're not very green - we stayed for a week and everyday we hung our towels up to show we didn't need them replaced. Every day, they were replaced. I suggested leaving the Do Not Disturb sign on the door all day to my husband, but we wanted the bins emptied and the toilet paper and tissue refilled, so that didn't work. I suggest working on meeting typical hotel expectations at this price level rather than striving for a "green" image you clearly aren't living out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your comments are important to us for improving our service in the future.

For the benefit of our future guests, there are a couple items I want to clarify in your comments.

For breakfast, like most high end hotels, we do not offer a complementary breakfast. However you'll find the menu for the Driftwood Café in the room where you can get many breakfast options as well as receive a discount as a guest of our hotel.

We do have refrigerators in our deluxe rooms. Our standard rooms offer a more economically priced option with a few less amenities such as a refrigerator.

The beers are 12 oz. We use recycled plastic cups if you will be taking the beer from the bar to the pool or your room, otherwise we use glass goblets.

Finally the kettle, I believe you are referring to a coffee maker? We have recently installed new Keurig coffee brewers in every room.

Please feel free to contact us with any specific questions. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

968 Park Hotel
Location: The hotel is just a five minute walk (in ski boots) to the Heavenly Gondola. Use the ski locker on the first floor to secure your ski’s to avoid carrying them up to the room. There isn’t much of a view from the rooms. Room 303 looks across Park at other lower priced hotels.
Cleanliness: Room 303 has a fairly new bathroom. The shower was good but one morning it took a few minutes for the hot water to reach us. There is no coffee maker or refrigerator in this room so I had to keep our yogurt in on ice, though the front desk said they have a large refrigerator if you want to store things there. The ice maker is on the second floor. Our room was cleaned daily and clean towels supplied if we needed them.
Amenities: The Free Wi-Fi doesn’t always work in room 303. I had to first go downstairs to the pub / lobby area to login with my iPhone, Kindle and laptop. After that, I was at least able to use my laptop and Kindle over Wi-Fi from the room. The front desk suggested this procedure. We reported that the jets of the hot tub weren’t working and it was fixed the next day. The sauna worked but both the hot tub area and sauna area have dim lighting, are depressing and need updating. The pool is seasonal so only opened in the summer months. I only saw one outdoor pool opened and that was at the Marriott at the Heavenly gondola area. There is plenty of free parking most of it covered. There is a small breakfast in the pub area which consists of coffee, tea and some sweet bread. The bread was fresh but nothing outstanding.
Service: The staff was very friendly. We asked the front desk for trail maps of Heavenly and Kirkwood. They were out of them but had them the next day for us. Rowena who manages the pub was helpful offering suggestions on a choice for dinner in Heavenly and Heavenly ski run’s we might try the next day. She even provided us free glass of wine, beside the token for one free Happy Hour drink we received at check in.
Noise: Some reviewers complained about the noise but we only had one problem with that. Some younger visitors decided to have a party outside our room near the elevator at about 11 p.m. one evening. They appeared to have enjoyed a few drinks this evening because they were fairly loud. We asked them to quiet down and they left without any problems. We did not hear much noise from adjacent rooms but I don’t know if they were occupied.
The only problems we had with Room 303 was the very occasional drop of water from the ceiling fan in the bathroom, the sink handle came off, and the difficulty opening the room door. Most times it took two swipes and a good shoulder push to get the door open. We viewed it as added security feature. However we reported these items to the front desk when we checked out. Considering the price ($116/night) this is a good choice for skiing in Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As Brazilian and not used to show resorts, we were vary insecure about it. But the place is just the best: Nice bedrooms, Nice people, Nice location, Nice happy hour! Less than 100 meters from Heavenly resort! We just LOVED it !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

No wifi in the room with excuses from the front desk staff. Tepid jaccuzzi that resembled egg drop soup. Stained bath and hand towels that made me question if they were actually clean. Great bed, excellent location and a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was well reviewed and therefore I decided it was the place to stay. I did read that the rooms above cause noise, but decided it must be fussy complaining people writing the review, but when the people come in at 3 am and you can hear everything, how long they spend on the toilet, every step, bang AND can hear them talking, then you are in for a bad night. The decor was trendy, but the drawers were almost impossible to open, we had two tiny double beds so ended up sleeping separately, the water noise rushing in the walls at times drives you crazy, well I could go on. I will never stay here again or recommend it to others. Yes the staff are great and the bar atmosphere brilliant, but that's all I can say that is positive.

Room Tip: Sleep on the top floor so you don't get disturbed, but remember the people underneath will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.