We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersGold level
Mariner from Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, wonderful staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a half a block from Heavenly resort. Food and entertainment possible without using the car. The hotel has a large hot tub and sauna as well as a pool for summer months. Two of our three nights other patrons were loud in the hotel hallways (at 3:00 a.m.) and we could hear every word but I don't blame the hotel for that, although obviously the walls are thin. Hansen's tubing hill is nearby for kids...lots of fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    156
    68
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
255
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our midweek stay at the 968 at the beginning of our California road trip couldn't have been any better. The staff are super-friendly, very welcoming and helpful, Jennifer at reception especially so. The location is excellent, within a short stroll to Heavenly Ski resort as well as the shuttles to Sierra at Tahoe (better for beginners and much better value). You're in the centre of South Lake Tahoe, its restaurants, shops and casinos. The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy. The jacuzzi is such a treat after a day on the slopes. The evening of our arrival we spent at the bar with Rowena, and we haven't had a more chilled out, funny and enjoyable evening in a while, thanks to her. I couldn't praise this place enough and can't fault 968 in any way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the friendly service and great atmosphere at this hotel. The room was extremely clean with amazing beds. I loved the decor made with recycled woods and other up cycled items - even took some pics for great recycling ideas for my own home. It was the best night's sleep we got out of the six nights and four hotels we slept in this trip. The public jacuzzi tub does need to be cleaned but other than that, our stay was flawless. Great location across from Heavenly village too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from a superb vacation in South Lake Tahoe, staying at the 968 Park Hotel. We were delighted to find the first and only green/eco friendly hotel in Tahoe, which has an earthy “Zen” feel while being warm and gracious. Ashley was a gem, manager Brandon was beyond accomodating, and Christine kindly went to great lengths to ensure all our needs were met. Rowena in the cozy lobby pub treated us like friends right off, chatting with our kids, revealing the excellent micro-brews on tap, and inviting us to try wines from local regions like El Dorado and Amador, resulting in some precious finds that have us glowing still. Add the convenient 1-block stroll to Heavenly Resort and the chic outdoor mall replete with shops/restaurants/movie theater, etc. and adjacent sledding hill for kids, and one has it made! I truly could not recommend this relaxing, comfortably elegantly hotel more highly. Don’t forget the adjacent spa for some self-pampering. Thank you, 968 Park!

Room Tip: Ask Ashley or Christine, and be specific about what you need and want; they will do yoga postures to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great hotel with an amazing and dedicated staff. I don't get the negative reviews - people must either be expecting the Ritz or would be better off in a massive casino hotel. 968 Park is a five minute walk to the Heavenly gondola and a 10 minute walk to casinos. I carried my skis every day to the gondola no problem. Rooms were clean and quiet with good amenities and gorgeous unique furnishings. Yes, there is no food on the premises, but bring some oatmeal packets for the hot water they put out with coffee an tea every morning. Bar is cosy for an après beer or nightcap. Great place for solo skiers to feel at home but left alone to enjoy Tahoe life.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We paid about $120/night; but this hotel has less ammenities than a motel 6. There is no microwave in the rooms and also no coffee maker. There was a microwave down in the lobby; but when we asked if we could heat up our leftovers we were told no, "It's a health code violation." So, we had to eat cold food after being outside in the cold all day. That was the deal breaker for me. Then not being able to make hot tea or coffee just made it all the more annoying. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the TV was nice; but for the price not up to par. I have stayed at other hotels in that area for the same price and have had a much better experiance.Also, the room was crazy hot all the time! We had the heat turned off and the window open and it was 23 degrees outside. We could not sleep very well since it was so hot all the time. Don't go to this hotel, its over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate that you recognize our quality beds and televisions. We are also pleased to be compared to Motel 6 with the summation that we do not offer the same or even a slightly similar experience. We take pride in offering only the highest quality soaps, shampoo, condition, lotions, $2,000 mattress, hand crafted furniture, a relaxed atmosphere, cozy bar with local wines, complementary fresh ground local coffee, a focus on sustainability and unmatched customer service.

We are also glad to hear that our staff was upholding the California health code in not allowing outside food in our microwave. Of course this law is to prevent cross contamination of outside food with the food we serve our guests. With so many food-borne illnesses and the current flu epidemic, this could not be more important.

Our team works very hard to provide the best experience possible and we appeal to the most discerning guest. That said, if your expectations are of that a Motel 6, we will not meet them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke, VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped in one night before going out. We heard that they had a cute little bar and a nice atmosphere. There was live music going on and we had a great time. They had some really good wines and my boyfriend had a New Belgium Draft. The bartender was very nice and friendly and had a lot of knowledge about the area. Everyone we encountered was so nice and we got to view one of the rooms. We will defiantly be staying here next time we come to Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon L, Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I hope next time you are up you can not only take advantage of the great atmosphere at the 968 CofeePub but also our comfy rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.