We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, eco-friendly hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Free Drinks
California and Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, eco-friendly hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

968 is a lovely small, clean hotel in South Lake Tahoe. The staff are super friendly and helped us with all of our questions, and went out of their way to help us.
The design of the hotel is interesting and there is some beautiful woodwork to be seen.
The hotel has a sauna and pool should you not want to go to the lakeside beach (hotel guests have private access to the beach).
A very pleasant stay and definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    120
    54
    21
    16
See reviews for
67
206
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September and really enjoyed it. Really comfy beds, helpful staff, and an overall great vibe. Good location in town-- a short walk from the lake, Heavenly Village, and the casinos. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed for three nights in early September and had an exceptional experience. Being very ecology minded the concept of the hotel was very appealing to us. The beds and linen were the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel setting. The staff was sooo helpful and friendly - truly customer service oriented. The pass for the beach was great and all the recommendations they gave us were spot on. Even though no air conditioning the room was comfortable and we got the best sleep ever. I would easily recommend this hotel over the chain hotels seen in the area. Brandon, the manager, went over and above for us and the desk staff, especially Ashley, were all top notch. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel. So clean and one of the best beds we had for the whole trip. A short walk to the beach to watch the sunset, very friendly staff who are obviously proud of the eco friendly aspect of the hotel. I LOVE the unusual and creative and every where you looked there was something unique to see. Advised our friends in SF to check it out and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your great feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I brought my girls for a two night visit and found the location, the staff and even the linens to be well above average, especially given the price of the room. I love great customer service, super clean accomodations and always appreciate a high thread count, so this was a great fit. (Ashley and Brandon were so nice - much appreciated!) We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA (SF Bay Area)
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently, there was a large scale and long lasting power outage in India. If you want to know exactly what those poor souls endured, or if you just want to find out what Bikram Yoga feels like, I recommend a night in July or August at the 968 Park Hotel. Now, in fairness to the hotel and at the risk of sounding environmentally insensitive, let me say that there were some good points, which earned the second star. However, the negatives we experienced were too overwhelming to save for the end so in the interest of saving others the hassle of changing hotels, allow me to share the bad points first.

Normally, we stay down the street in the Best Western Plus Station House Inn (where we retreated to after the first horrible night). However, there was a Groupon and when we called, the staff offered to not only match but even beat the offer by a bit so we figured we'd give it a shot. Going against one's better judgment occasionally works, but not usually. We arrived before check-in and would have been happy to just take the beach pass and check in later. Instead, the front desk employee checked us into a room on the top floor (which we always request to avoid kids stomping around all night). We enter the room and not only is the room not made, but there is another guest's luggage and personal belongings strewn all over the floor. They had obviously not checked out. Never in all my years of vacations had I ever been given access to a room that was still occupied. The security risk alone is enough to lose 3 stars. A hotel should NEVER EVER allow an unauthorized person access to a guest's personal property. Strike one.

Now the big issue that was I suppose technically my fault. It's been an unseasonably warm summer in Lake Tahoe with temperatures regularly climbing into the mid to upper 80's with a strong sun. Aside from the previous guest's mess, the other thing that jumped out at us immediately was the heat. This hotel has NO air conditioning, something I have never seen even in the sleaziest porno hotels. Never in a hundred years would I think to ask if a hotel in America has air conditioning in an environment that routinely approaches 85 degrees in the summer. The room was like the dry sauna in a gym and the fan in the window does nothing but blow hot air. This may be fine for someone raised in Abu Dhabi or Phoenix. (or maybe even some readers that don't mind the heat) For me, trying to sleep while engulfed in a pool of sweat is about as fun as enduring a tax audit. Strike two.

As we were hot and tired from the 3 hour drive, we decided to just deal with it. We went to the beach for a few hours and came back. This time, the front desk was staffed by an uppity, highly overzealous young girl, perhaps one of the managers. Her explanation was that "Oh, this is Lake Tahoe. Except for the top chains, nobody has air conditioning". With due respect, she has either never looked at any of her 10 or 12 neighboring small hotels on the same street or she just plain lied. Knowing this statement was not true, I counted that night and found 1 or 2 of the 15 or so local hotels without an air conditioner.

So we went up to the newly assigned room (no explanation was given for the earlier incident), briefly unpacked and left for dinner hoping perhaps the room might cool down a bit after sundown. No such luck. As we walked in at about 10 PM, it was worse than during the day, having absorbed 12 hours of hot sun. We walked to the lobby, desperately begging the happy manager for any ideas. As if she was just waiting for us, she proceeded to bring a second fan upstairs and prop the door open in a manner designed to circulate air. (It dropped to about 84 1/2 degrees from 85). Knowing we were never going to sleep, we went back downstairs and guess who was waiting for us? This time she suggested we go to the hammocks in the pool area and watch the shooting star event that was happening. With the horrible lighting that exists throughout the property, (more eco friendliness I guess) we missed the pool and wound up in the street and there she was, ready to direct us. Now it was starting to get creepy like we were in "The Shining" and she was staking out our every move. Finally, we were ready for a stint in the Jacuzzi. Guess what she said in a low voice? "Oh, it's out of order" And when would it be workable? She has no idea. Three strikes and you're out.

By 11 PM, the air was comfortably cool and we would've just slept in the hammock if we didn't think creepy woman would lurk. We attempted to sleep in the room which remained 20 degrees hotter than the air. I am the light and picky sleeper yet it was my wife who looked at me at 4 AM and simply said "I give up". In 15 years, she has never ever been too hot to sleep when I was able to. The only reason I drifted off and slept in sweltering 30 minute increments was the sleeping pills I took earlier. So we called the Best Western in the middle of the night and fortunately, the next two nights were Sunday and Monday and they reserved a COMFORTABLE room for us.

Regarding the hotel itself, I understand that eco-friendly and super green warrants giving up some comforts you may be used to in a chain hotel but the 968 Park Hotel is simply cheap. There are 2 dinky little plastic cups, and 2 miniscule sized bath products. The room is cramped and the furniture is the kind of unfinished wood you'd buy when you're in your college hippie pauper years. The 2 pictures on the wall do nothing to brighten the drab walls. There is no in-house coffee, very little drawer space for your clothes, and nowhere to sit besides the bed. And the TV is a plasma that has an inferior blurry picture.

As for the positives, there are some. Excluding creepy lady and the irresponsible lady that allowed us access to someone's laptop, phone and money, the rest of the staff is friendly. The morning clerk not only checked us out with no hassles, she refunded the portion of my deposit that exceeded one night's stay instantly and even gave us the bottle of wine that was part of the package. She also let us cancel the spa reservation with less than 24 hour notice BUT at no time were we told about a cancellation policy nor was it in the confirmed reservation. The lobby is kind of cozy and had it not been like the middle of Ethiopia, the bed would have been acceptably comfortable.

As far as the location, it's great; walking distance to the private beach and casinos. However, with a myriad of options all at about the same price, I would only choose this hotel if you buy into the notion that skimping on something as basic as an air conditioner in a summer resort area is worth the discomforts you should be entitled to for the price. Or perhaps if you work for Greenpeace.

Room Tip: Therre is no good room unless you enjoy sleeping in a pool of sweat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Booked originally for four nights, but enjoyed the area so much we stopped for six nights and extended over the weekend.

Location - just off the main road and far enough away from the road not to be disturbed by any road noise. A short walk to host of restaurants, shops, attractions.

As other reviewers have mentioned, no AC, a fan is provided but during the recent heatwave it sometimes served no purpose than pushing hot air around the room.

Room very nice with internet access with no issues.

Passes given to nearby beach and discounts given to local cafe for someone looking for a big breakfast.

Overall very nice and would book again if we were to stop in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe
Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
968 Park Hotel mixes stylish modern architecture with a classic Tahoe feel. Combined with an endless effort for environmental preservation, the hotel is in every way the quintessential Lake Tahoe experience.Throughout the hotel you’ll discover organic Egyptian cotton linens, soaps, lotions shampoo, low energy appliances. In the 968 CoffeePub we offer craft beers beers, local wines, Friday night wine tastings and Saturday night live music featuring our own local artists. With a focus on sustainability, customer service and comfort the 968 Park Hotel is certain that once you have been here, you will keep coming back every time you visit beautiful Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.