We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was perfectly adequate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Drinks!
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Mammoth Lakes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our stay was perfectly adequate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were looking to get away for a couple days and needed cheap...this it was, comparable to the cheapy motels down the road. The good thing is the decor definately beats the cheapy motels. I like the lobby, it was warm and inviting and the rustic decor throughout the hotel was nice (take time to look at the pictures, they are really cool.) The staff, once engaged was friendly. The room was comfortable and CLEAN. However, the vanity was way too low, I'm 5'7 and had to bend over quite low to brush my teeth. The shower was nice but the shower head was at least 7 feet high (I couldn't reach it to adjust it.) So, by the time the water hit you, it was all fanned out and the water was luke-warm, not hot. (The dimensions were way off for the sink and shower height.) The bed was comfy but no thick blanket and only 2 small pillows. We called down to get more blankets and pillows, but never got them and then just forgot about it, so we cranked the heat really high! The spa, quite frankly was gross...actually it looked clean, but it's indoors and the chemical/chlorine smell was over-whelming. The spa and wi-fi were 2 deciding factors on choosing this hotel so we were bummed we couldn't stomache the chlorine. Also, like other reviewers said, the parking is plentiful, but the pillars might take out your door!! BUT...free wi-fi is the best and the location is great - walking distance to sushi and the Heavenly Village. If we were looking for inexpensive again, we would go back. (We got a cheeeeeaaaap rate when I called the hotel directly.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    167
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
278
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located. Within walking distance to the casinos. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean. Front staff were friendly and helpful. They helped us open a bottle of wine, gave us directions to restaurants, and were very welcoming. The spa was very nice after a day of 30 degree temps.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

968 Park Hotel was a fine establishment. The staff were helpful and the location was great. Just a quick walk to the lake and also to the casinos. We stayed during summer so we even worked in a quick swim. The rooms were clean and did the job just fine. If you're thinking of staying at this hotel I recommend signing up for their e-newsletter ahead of time, they're always sending out deals and such If you're there in winter I think this place would be perfect. Right across the street from the Heavenly Gondola so hitting the slopes would be no problem. I rated this property excellent taking into account the location, the price, the cleanliness, the staff, the decor and the general effort it seems they put in to trying to have guests enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: Join their e-newsletter ahead of time and you might be able to snag a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Very Good little hotel for the price. Great service from the staff and front desk. Rustic theme, eco-friendly, nothing fancy but all the basic amenities included. Coffe, Jiuce, and some pastries available in the morning. Toilet paper is a bit rough - bring your own if you need something softer. 2-block walk to restaraunts and coffee shops (ie. Starbucks). You will get the best rate if you reserve a room directly with the hotel and not through a travel website.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel is really nice. The staff are friendly and helpful, the area is almost residential and quite quiet. Parking a large American car is hard as the pillars are easy to hit (not sure how I didn't the first time as they get wider at the bottom) But once in the place is great. The pool has beds all round it and the steam room / sauna was a nice retreat. There is a metal beam that I made contact with a couple of times above the spa pool though. OK if you are less than 6 ft tall. Breakfast was a really nice cake, coffee and juice which is all we needed. The room was smallish by US standards but fine by European ones. Bed comfy room clean, very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here as a base for a skiing trip, and really enjoyed our 9 night stay.
It is fair to say that this is not a full facility hotel, i.e. the bar service is limited to wine and beer, and breakfast is limited to cakes and drinks, but that is what kind of makes it a great base for skiing as it is very laid back, and if you really need to sample some corporate relaxation, then the Marriot is just yards away where you can spend your corporate dollars to your hearts content.
The location of this hotel, so close to the Stateline, makes for a somewhat pleasingly confusing stay, as there are certain things you can do on one side of the street that you cannot do on the other, e.g. gambling.
So to the rooms in the hotel, the beds were big and comfy, and the rooms were at a comfortable temperature ( so often ski hotels are too warm), the bathroom was OK, but actually due to the decoration and lighting looked like it did not belong to the room ( hated the strip lighting in the bathroom).
Good choice of TV channels on the FST, and plenty of storage space.
The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful and always happy to offer an opinion on restaurants etc.
Would definitely stay here again for a ski trip, due to its atmosphere and closeness to the Heavenly Gondola and it’s restaurants and bars, but could see it may not be the best choice in the summer months if you wanted a full service hotel.

Room Tip: In the winter months, avoid the corner rooms as they are very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good - Location, nice staff (with one weird exception below), and dedication to conservation and the environment.
Bad - Musty smell, no coffee in rooms (but possibly partially due to reducing waste from filters, packaging, etc.?) and the coffee in the lobby and dessert bread in the morning was really, really bad. We chose the hotel after we had narrowed down to two because of the hot tub but it broke the day we arrived. Hard to get them to stock room with washcloths but had no problem with towels!
Interesting - Very small bar but good beer & wine. AM staff "doesn't like to do wake up calls." Kind of cool toiletries with eco packaging. My sweetie liked that there was cool jazzy music playing from speakers in the hotel's sign out front ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.