We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location For A Ski Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added 968 Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersGold level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ideal Location For A Ski Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here as a base for a skiing trip, and really enjoyed our 9 night stay.
It is fair to say that this is not a full facility hotel, i.e. the bar service is limited to wine and beer, and breakfast is limited to cakes and drinks, but that is what kind of makes it a great base for skiing as it is very laid back, and if you really need to sample some corporate relaxation, then the Marriot is just yards away where you can spend your corporate dollars to your hearts content.
The location of this hotel, so close to the Stateline, makes for a somewhat pleasingly confusing stay, as there are certain things you can do on one side of the street that you cannot do on the other, e.g. gambling.
So to the rooms in the hotel, the beds were big and comfy, and the rooms were at a comfortable temperature ( so often ski hotels are too warm), the bathroom was OK, but actually due to the decoration and lighting looked like it did not belong to the room ( hated the strip lighting in the bathroom).
Good choice of TV channels on the FST, and plenty of storage space.
The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful and always happy to offer an opinion on restaurants etc.
Would definitely stay here again for a ski trip, due to its atmosphere and closeness to the Heavenly Gondola and it’s restaurants and bars, but could see it may not be the best choice in the summer months if you wanted a full service hotel.

Room Tip: In the winter months, avoid the corner rooms as they are very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    149
    63
    23
    21
See reviews for
81
244
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good - Location, nice staff (with one weird exception below), and dedication to conservation and the environment.
Bad - Musty smell, no coffee in rooms (but possibly partially due to reducing waste from filters, packaging, etc.?) and the coffee in the lobby and dessert bread in the morning was really, really bad. We chose the hotel after we had narrowed down to two because of the hot tub but it broke the day we arrived. Hard to get them to stock room with washcloths but had no problem with towels!
Interesting - Very small bar but good beer & wine. AM staff "doesn't like to do wake up calls." Kind of cool toiletries with eco packaging. My sweetie liked that there was cool jazzy music playing from speakers in the hotel's sign out front ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I'm writing an honest review because I really have no idea how this hotel ranks so high and why it gets such great reviews.

We checked in (the kid at the counter was moderately friendly), went to our room (queen) and promptly left to get our luggage.....but the room door would not latch closed. After spending five minutes trying to get the door closed, we found a maid and asked for help. Finally, help arrived and a maintenance guy spent fifteen minutes (while we were inside our room) slamming the door closed. When this procedure was clearly in the process of failing, I asked the girl (who looked to be in charge) for another room. She said (and I quote, word for word), "just chill out." This was not something that should ever be uttered by someone offering a product which is being paid (handsomely) for. I was appalled (and tired, after traveling all day). We were moved to another room (two doubles) and were grateful to have a door that latched (and bolted) closed.

The shower was great. The bathroom vanities were too small and one the light bulbs above the vanity was out. The mattresses (which everyone raves about) were adequate but the pillows were atrocious. No AC but it was cold so no matter.

Breakfast consisted of (three mornings in a row) a cranberry bread and coffee. The location was great - within easy walking distance of Heavenly Village, the casinos, and the beach. We were given coupons to restaurants. The staff were less than friendly, never acknowledging our presence until we walked up to the counter and could no longer be avoided.

Room Tip: Never accept a room ending in -03....they face the elevator and stairwell and face the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a great little eco hotel in a good location for South Lake Tahoe. All the restaurants and bars are a short walk away and there is a small little wine/ beer bar in the hotel itself. The rooms are large, very comfortable beds and free wi-fi. There is a big bathroom with lovely toiletries. There is a spa, sauna, hot tub and pool if you feel the need. Lots of parking available for guests. We stayed for 3 nts and would stay here when in South Lake Tahoe again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The 968 Park hotel is a nice, clean, adequate "motel". My husband and I stayed for two nights in a deluxe king room. The bathroom consisted of a tub shower and toilet in a very small separate room. A modern bowl sink attached to a wooden table served as the vanity, which was out in the bedroom area.. If you are someone who uses a lot of makeup and hair products, there is not much room surrounding the sink. The decor, while a novel idea, is not anything to write home about and not as impressive looking as in the website photos but functional enough. The bed was the best part of our stay, as it was extremely comfortable. Lighting in the rooms and the entire motel was noticably dim. Breakfast consists of pastery/bread items, juice and coffee. Enouhg to get you going til you find a real breakfast or lunch place to eat. Parking was a challenge since the spaces were under the building between the pillars which held up the structure. If you drive anything larger than a Mini Cooper, Smart Car, or motorcycle, you may definitely want to stay somewhere with better parking. There is limited open parking behind the building but guests got smart to it and pretty much everyone who could park back there did. The location is excellent; walking distance to the casinos, shopping, food and the beach, so if you are just plain looking for a comfy bed with budget-friendly, clean and basic amenities, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room. Can hear footsteps of people staying above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I checked in late. We were coming from a wedding in Fairfield. Even though
we didnt get the room we booked. (King room) we did get a double full. They assured us the next night we would be moved to a King. The room was rustic & the bathrrom small but it was fine. One of the staff gave us abottle of wine because of the room situatuion. They deserved high marks for great customer service. We also received a coupon for 15% off a local resturant that we walked to and utilized. The next day the room was larger and both rooms had flat screen televisions in them. We had a mini fridge for snacks and was quite pleased. We will return to this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

the moment we walked into 968 Park after a long drive, we were pleasantly surprised. Great music(Jamon satellite), playing quietly, an inviting little beer and wine bar in the lobby,efficient and friendly check in and a staff well informed about local activites. In addition, ther were all the things we booked for like the green hotel features and great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 968 Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;